Four tenpin bowlers earn

January 17, 2007

The 10th annual Antietam Association Scholarship Bowling Tournament was held at Turner's Dual Lanes on Jan. 7 and this year's first place winners in the scratch division were Wayne Young and Megan Mitchell.

Handicap division winners included Todd Jacobson and Kelli Maus.

The tournament has awarded a total of $32,000 over the past 10 years to youth bowlers who are members of the Antietam Association of the United States Bowling Congress.

The association consists of several youth leagues that compete at three area bowling centers.

The tournament is open to bowlers who are junior or seniors in high school or those who are enrolled in college, trade or training school while maintaining active membership in the association.

This year's recipients of scholarship awards were the first place tournament winners in the scratch and handicap categories for both boys and girls participants, each of whom received $750.


Donations and support from individual sponsors along with fundraisers from adult bowlers are used to finance the scholarships.

Young, Jacobson and Maus regularly participate in the Saturday Major/Senior Division at Turner's Dual Lanes while Mitchell is a member of the league at Southside Bowl.

Competition consisted of each youth bowling six games across 10 pairs of lanes with the winners determined by the total pinfall.

The scores for scratch winners Young and Mitchell were 1,322 and 1,110, respectively. Maus had a score of 1,510 with handicap and Jacobson's handicap total was 1,462.

Wayne Young, 19, attends Allegany Community College and Kelli Maus, 19, is enrolled at Hagerstown Community College. Todd Jacobson, 17, and Megan Mitchell, 16, are juniors at South Hagerstown High School.

The Herald-Mail Articles