New commissioner takes oath in Morgan County

January 08, 2007|by TRISH RUDDER

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.Va. - Family members watched as Brenda J. Hutchinson was sworn in Tuesday morning as the newly elected commissioner of Morgan County.

Replacing Bob Ford, who served one six-year term, Hutchinson, a Democrat from Magisterial District 1 in Great Cacapon, W.Va., was elected in November to serve for six years.

The other commission members are Glen R. Stotler and Thomas R. Swaim.

Stotler was re-elected Tuesday as president of the Morgan County Commission for 2007 by Swaim and Hutchinson.

Stotler said this is his 23rd consecutive year as a Morgan County commissioner.

Holiday schedule approved

The Morgan County Commissioners unanimously approved the 2007 holiday schedule.

The county offices will close Monday, Jan. 15, Martin Luther King Jr. Day; Monday, Feb. 19, Presidents Day; Monday, May 28, Memorial Day; Wednesday, June 20, West Virginia Day; Wednesday, July 4, Independence Day; Monday, Sept. 3, Labor Day; Monday, Oct. 8, Columbus Day; Monday, Nov. 12, Veterans Day; Thursday, Nov. 22, and Friday, Nov. 23, Thanksgiving; Monday, Dec. 24, and Tuesday, Dec. 25, Christmas; Monday, Dec. 31, New Year's Eve (close at 1 p.m.); and Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2008, New Year's Day.


Commission meeting dates approved

The Morgan County Commissioners unanimously approved their 2007 meeting dates Tuesday.

The regular meeting dates will be Jan. 5 and 19; Feb. 9 and 22; March 9 and 23; April 6 and 20; May 4 and 18; June 1, 15 and 29; July 13 and 27; Aug. 10 and 24; Sept. 7 and 21; Oct. 4 and 19; Nov. 2 and 16; and Dec. 7 and 21.

The Herald-Mail Articles