Business groups, sportsmen agree on Muldowney

October 02, 2006|by ANDREW SCHOTZ

Business groups, sportsmen agree on Muldowney

In the state delegate Subdistrict 2C race, Republican Paul Muldowney has picked up endorsements from two business organizations and from sportsmen.

Muldowney, who is trying to unseat Democratic incumbent John P. Donoghue, is the choice of the Maryland Business Leadership Political Action Committee, which is affiliated with Maryland Business for Responsive Government.

In an endorsement letter, MBRG said it liked that Muldowney, as a delegate, voted against a cap on credit interest rates 23 years ago.

The National Federation of Independent Business also has endorsed Muldowney.

The Washington County Federation of Sportsmen's Clubs picked Muldowney and urged him to "honor your comments and commitment to the preservation of hunting, fishing, trapping and all such activities ...."


The federation also asked Muldowney to donate money to its ad campaign publicizing the list of candidates it endorsed. The full list hadn't been released as of Friday.

Campaign food for thought

As part of its "Decision '06" series, the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce is hosting three candidate events next week at the Four Points Sheraton on Dual Highway.

Democratic gubernatorial candidate Martin O'Malley will be at a lunch event Oct. 10 from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. The cost is $25 per person.

Washington County Commissioner candidates are scheduled to be at a forum Oct. 12 from 7:30 to 9 a.m. Tickets cost $10 each.

On Oct. 13, U.S. Senate candidates Michael Steele, a Republican, and Ben Cardin, a Democrat, will be at a lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. The cost to attend is $25 per person.

In all three cases, proceeds will not go to the candidates, the Chamber noted.

For more information, call the chamber at 301-739-2015, ext. 100.

It's final

The Washington County Board of Elections on Friday certified the results of this year's primaries, including absentee and provisional ballots.

The only change to the list of winning candidates after Sept. 12, the date of the primaries, was the order of the Democratic winners for Washington County Commissioner: Donna L. Brightman passed J. Herbert Hardin for fourth place. Both will advance to the Nov. 7 general election.

The Republican county commissioner candidates, in order of votes received, will be: John F. Barr, William J. Wivell, Terry L. Baker, James F. Kercheval and John C. Munson. The Democratic candidates will be: Kristin B. Aleshire, Paul L. Swartz, N. Linn Hendershot, Brightman and Hardin. Five overall winners will be chosen from the 10 candidates in the general election.

In the Washington County Board of Education race, three winners will be picked from six candidates: Ruth Anne Callaham, Paul W. Bailey, William H. Staley, Jacqueline B. Fischer, Virginia Powers and Wayne M. Kretzer Jr.

Complete Washington County primary results are posted at

New Dems in charge

The Washington County Democratic Central Committee elected new officers Sept. 22: Chairwoman Patricia R. Heck, Vice Chairman N. Linn Hendershot, Treasurer Donald L. Souders and Secretary Claudia G. Martin. They are joined on the committee by Larry N. Barron, Jason A. Malott, Barbara A. Neiman and Samuel Tubaugh. The eight members were elected to the committee in the Sept. 12 primary.

The Herald-Mail Articles