Business People

October 01, 2006

The Herald-Mail Co.

·Gail Petry is marking a 30-year anniversary with The Herald-Mail Co. in October. Petry, an inside sales representative in the Classified Department, has served in various advertising sales capacities during her career with the company.

· Brad Bennett, the company's night foreman in the Packaging & Distribution Department, is marking five years with the company in October.

· David Palmer has been promoted to the role of outside sales representative in the Display Advertising Department. Palmer has been with the company since June, serving previously as a sales associate.


· In the Circulation Department, Kathie Heavner has been promoted to a full-time state zone manager position. Heavner served in a similar capacity from August 2004 through October 2005, and has been working part time in the interim.

· On the part-time front, Harry Nogle has been hired as a special sections assistant in the Advertising Department. Nogle has for the past several years been a Sharpsburg-Keedysville town correspondent, and will continue to report in that capacity.

· In the Packaging & Distribution Department, Shirley Diller, Michael Edwards and Amanda Robinson have been hired as inserters.

24/7 Dance Studio

Sheila Lowman has joined 24/7 Dance Studio to offer acrodance and tumbling classes.

She was a competitive gymnast for 12 years, reaching a Level 9 status. She is a former Maryland state all-around champion. She has helped train gymnasts in the four-state area, including Frederick, Md., Rockville, Md., and Williamsport, for the past five years.

Landmark Equipment

Jeffrey Ebersole, of Landmark Equipment in Hagerstown, recently achieved Master Level recognition for the position of sales manager. To attain that level, he completed extensive training in the John Deere University program.

Landmark Equipment participates in a comprehensive training program with John Deere to help its employees reach certain standards of expertise.

Ebersole received a leather jacket and a plaque of recognition to honor his accomplishment.

Patterson, Kiersz & Murphy

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - The law firm of Patterson, Kiersz & Murphy, P.C., 239 E. Main St., Waynesboro, recently honored Kathy M. Thompson for 25 years of service with a surprise luncheon at the Waynesboro Country Club.

Thompson, of Fayetteville, Pa., is a 1974 graduate of Waynesboro Area Senior High School and has worked in the legal field since 1974. She has been the bookkeeper for the firm since 1981.

Thompson also is a legal assistant, dealing with the firm's elder law clients as a Medicaid case manager, as well as being the firm's business coordinator.

EXIT Realty Prosperity Group

FREDERICK, Md. - Michele Horton has joined the Frederick office of EXIT Realty Prosperity Group.

She deals with residential and investment property real estate.

Hagerstown Trust

Hagerstown Trust has announced two internal managerial promotions.

Angela Barnhart-Robins was promoted from assistant manager at the Dual Highway office to manager of the Boonsboro office. She has been with Hagerstown Trust since 1998. She was a recipient of The President's Club Award for outstanding business performance in 2004 and 2005.

Marie Oyster was promoted from personal financial specialist to assistant manager of the Dual Highway office. She has been with Hagerstown Trust since 2001.

She was a recipient of The President's Club Award in 2003.

RE/MAX Achievers

RE/MAX Achievers in Hagerstown has named the following agents Top Agents for the Month of August:

Top Agent with commissions earned and new listings: Steven L. Powell.

Top Agent with new sales: Alice J. Guy.

Homewood at Williamsport

WILLIAMSPORT - Homewood at Williamsport continuing-care retirement community honored workers for their years of service during the annual Homewood Coworker Appreciation Event on Sept. 15.

Those receiving recognition include:

Thirty years - Patsy Palmer

Twenty-five years - Brenda Allen, Patti Gouff, Renee Kirby, Sandy Knode, Lora Lane.

Twenty years - Duvia Bowers, Teresa Ernst, Joyce McCarney, Deanna Plotner.

Fifteen years - Cheryl Hott, Diane Miller, Jean Moore, Dawn Nally, Doris Reiff.

Ten years - Kathy Henson, Judy Humphrey, Norma Jackson, Dawn Keeney, Earl Moyer, Rosalie Rhodes-Shontz, Charolette Wean, Donna Wiles.

Five years - Sandy Carlisle, Judy Diller, Christina House, Tammy J. Creek, Judy Mullenix, Deanna Myers, Kim Stottlemyer, Margie Yost, Kathleen M. Robinson.

Two years - Hazel Crawley, Jessica Daily, Bonnie Distad, Amanda Ecker, Henry Fisher, Jon Ford, Jeanie Frazer, Betty Gantz, Amanda Graham, Nicki Hambleton, Joi Hilton, Kim Hongell, Tina Jones, Brandy Kirby, Blanche Masters, Eva McPherson, Marcy Moore, Ellen Prandi, Jeremey Rickett, Shelly Toms, Samantha Wilk.

The Herald-Mail Articles