September 24, 2006

Mayor: Mildred "Mickey" Myers, 301-739-1385

Town Council:

Shirley Aurand, 301-824-7635

Jerome Martin, 301-824-5271

Tom Chiarizia, 301-824-3780

Dennis "Jack" Wenthe, 301-824-3977

Thomas B. Smith, 301-824-2663

The council meets the first Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. at Town Hall.

Police chief: Michael Potter, 301-824-3500

Town Hall: 301-824-7234


Population: 2,859

History: Christopher Smith purchased a tract of land in 1813, and began to divide the lots and lay out a town. The town was incorporated in 1846.

Electricity: Allegheny Power, 1-800-255-3443

Water and sewer: water is purchased through the City of Hagerstown but billing matters are handled Town Hall. Smithsburg owns the sewer distribution system and Washington County owns the sewage treatment plant. For problems, call Town Hall.

Cable: Antietam Cable, 301-797-5000

Trash pickup: Monday and Thursday, set out the night before.

Recycling: Take recyclables to the bin behind the Smithsburg Volunteer Fire Co. on Main Street or to the Washington County Greensburg Transfer Station landfill on Bikle Road, 301-824-3266.

The Herald-Mail Articles