Police union backs Lynn


The Hagerstown police union has endorsed Gordon A. Lynn for Washington County state's attorney, Officer Wayne Hose, the union president, said Thursday.

"He hears where we need to be and he's willing to work where we all need to be at," he said.

Hose said officers are concerned about communication between police and the state's attorney's office.

"We feel it's time for a change in the state's attorneys office," he said.

"I will keep the interest of the law-enforcement personnel of paramount interest as a state's attorney," Lynn said Thursday. "I am honored that they have endorsed me. I will not let them down."

Lynn, a Republican, will challenge incumbent State's Attorney Charles P. Strong Jr. and attorney Gregory C. Bannon in the Sept. 12 Republican primary.


Jerry Joyce is the only Democrat in the race. The general election is Nov. 7.

Local 3373 of The American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees' Council 67 represents 80 Hagerstown officers, Donna Messina, the city's human resources director, said Friday.

Labor council endorses six Democrats

The Central Maryland AFL-CIO Council is supporting six Democrats in state races in Washington and Frederick counties:

· Frederick J. Hill for Subdistrict 1C delegate. Hill is running in the primary against Brian K. Grim. The Republican incumbent, LeRoy E. Myers Jr., has no primary opponent. Subdistrict 1C covers parts of Washington and Allegany counties.

· John P. Donoghue for Subdistrict 2C delegate. Donoghue, the incumbent, is facing James M. Devine in the Democratic primary. The Republican challenger is Paul Muldowney. Another Republican, Scott Hesse, will be on the primary ballot, but has withdrawn from the race. Subdistrict 2C is in Washington County.

· Galen Ronald Clagett and Sue Hecht for Subdistrict 3A delegates. Clagett is one of two incumbents; the other is Republican Patrick N. Hogan. Of the four candidates in the general election - Clagett, Hecht, Hogan and Republican Linda Naylor - voters will pick two as delegates. Subdistrict 3A is in Frederick County.

· Maggi Margaret Hays for Subdistrict 4A delegate. Of the three general-election candidates - Hays and Republican incumbents Joseph R. Bartlett and Paul S. Stull - voters will choose two. Subdistrict 4A is in Frederick County.

· Candy Greenway for District 3 senator. Greenway is the only Democrat in the race. Incumbent Alex X. Mooney has two challengers in the Republican primary: Tim Brooks and Hugh M. Warner. District 3 covers parts of Washington and Frederick counties.

The council said it will interview countywide candidates for possible endorsements.

Open for (political) business

Washington County's Democrats opened their headquarters at 245 N. Potomac St. in Hagerstown last week, according to County Commissioners candidate Paul L. Swartz, who was volunteering there Friday.

The office is open from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. and from 4 to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Bumper stickers, lawn signs and literature for most candidates are available there.

The Herald-Mail Articles