Smithsburg High School graduation

August 06, 2006

Smithsburg High School held its graduation ceremony June 9 at The Maryland Theatre in Hagerstown. Principal Melvin G. Whitfield and Washington County Board of Education member Wayne D. Ridenour presented diplomas to the 198 graduating seniors.

Valedictorian Usama Qadri spoke on "Thinking Outside the Box." The son of Anwar Qadri and Samina Anwar of Hagerstown served as president of the Student Government Association, was captain of the academic team and was a member of the National Honor Society, the Environmental Club and the varsity tennis team. He plans to attend Yale University this fall, majoring in molecular biology, with the ultimate aim of becoming a physician or surgeon.

Salutatorian Kenzie Jane Bowen spoke on "Words of Wisdom." The daughter of John and Denise Bowen of Smithsburg was senior class president and secretary of the Washington County Association of Student Councils. She was a member of the National Honor Society, the varsity volleyball and basketball teams, and the FCA 17 National Malachi volleyball team. She plans to attend the University of Notre Dame and major in engineering/business.


It was announced that members of the Class of 2006 had received a total of $1,596,341 in scholarships.

Awards won by members of the senior class included:

Alisa A. Anderson - Savannah Academic Achievement Scholarship, Outstanding Art Student Award

Kyle W. Anderson - Penn State Presidential Scholarship, Penn State Chancellor's Award, Penn State Distinguished Freshman Scholarship, Merit Scholastic Award, Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Honorable Mention, Outstanding Social Studies Student Award

Joseph R. Baer - Drexel University Academic Scholarship, First Data Scholarship, Elks Lodge #378 Outstanding Scholar Citizen Scholarship, Perfect Attendance Senior Year, Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Semifinalist, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award, Outstanding Business Student Award

Heather Y. Baker - Perfect Attendance Senior Year

Lyndsay D. Bates - MVAL Scholar Athlete Award

Rachel M. Bibbee - Violet Richardson Award, Leitersburg

Joseph C. Biser - Lehigh University Dean's Scholarship

Andrew R. Bohan - Gettysburg College Founders Scholarship, Richard M. Schultz Jr. SYA Achievement Scholarship, Charas Heurich Memorial Scholarship, Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Honorable Mention, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award, The U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Scholar Award

Robert C. Bolyard - Perfect Attendance Senior Year

Kenzie J. Bowen - Herald-Mail Student of the Month Award, Hagerstown Elks Teenager of the Year Award, Michael D. Flook Memorial Award, Merit Scholastic Award, Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Semifinalist, Millie Shank Award, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award, Outstanding English Student Award, Outstanding Math Student Award, Outstanding Science Student Award, Washington County Schools Supervisor of Math Award, Charles A. Summers Memorial Scholastic Athletic Award

Amanda J. Boyer - Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award, Daughters of the American Revolution State Finalist Award, Merit Scholastic Award, Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Honorable Mention

Kathryn S. Bryson - Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Honorable Mention

Daniel E. Buhrman -Outstanding Computer Science Student Award

Danielle N. Burgan - Outstanding Diversified Occupations Student Award

Emily J. Burger - Shippensburg University Soccer Scholarship, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award

Tara K. Bywaters - Frederick Community College Athletic Scholarship

Amber M. Colbert -Merit Scholastic Award, Outstanding Social Studies Student Award, Woodmen of the World Award

Nicholas R. Connelly -Richard M. Schultz Jr. SYA Scholarship

Allyson M. Cool Perfect Attendance Senior Year

Elizabeth R. Danner - American Association of University Women Scholarship

Garrett M. Delaney - University of Maryland-Baltimore County Scholars Award, University of Maryland-Baltimore County Honors Program, National Merit Scholar, Maryland Distinguished Scholar Semi-finalist, Richard M. Schultz Jr. SYA Scholarship, Linda House Zeigler Scholarship, Merit Distinguished Scholar-Semi-finalist, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award, Outstanding English Student Award, Four years High School-Perfect Attendance, Merit Scholarship Award

Dana M. Diehl - Richard M. Schultz Jr. SYA Scholarship, Kristy Lynn Buhrman Scholarship

Kathryn M. Durst - Katherine Schiliano Scholarship

Robert L. Flook - Smithsburg High School Yearbook Award

Shannon M. Fowkes - True Grit Award, Western Carolina University Scholarship, Western Carolina Athletic Scholarship, Skip Ward Award, MVAL Scholar Athlete Award

Austin T. Gates - Manitowoc Co., Inc. Scholarship, H & A Alger Scholarship of Virginia Avenue Baptist Church

Jason L. Gladhill - Virginia Avenue Baptist Church Scholarship

Robert M. Hall - Johnson and Wales Accounting II Scholarship, Outstanding Business Student Award

Arlo R. Harvey - Outstanding Orchestra Student Award

Tiffney E. Haupt - York College Dean's Scholarship

Dennis S. Herbert - Dick Kelly Memorial Scholarship

The Herald-Mail Articles