Most primaries in Frederick Co. are contested

August 03, 2006|by ANDREW SCHOTZ

WASHINGTON COUNTY - Six state legislators running for re-election in Frederick County have contested primaries on Sept. 12.

In his bid for a third state senate term, Alex X. Mooney of Frederick has two challengers in a Republican primary: Tim Brooks and Hugh M. Warner, both of Frederick.

Mooney represents District 3, which covers parts of Washington and Frederick counties.

Only one Democrat is in the race, Candy O. Greenway of Frederick.

District 4 also will have a Republican state senate primary. Paul Chamberlain of Taneytown is challenging incumbent David R. Brinkley of New Market, who is seeking a second term. Brinkley has served two terms as a delegate.

Subdistrict 3A's two delegates have primary opponents.

Patrick N. Hogan of Frederick, the Republican incumbent, is facing Linda Naylor of Braddock Heights.

Galen Ronald Clagett of Frederick, the Democratic incumbent, is running against Sue Hecht of Frederick, who was a state delegate from 1995 to 2003.


Hogan and Clagett are seeking second terms.

Subdistrict 3B incumbent Richard B. Weldon Jr. of Brunswick, a Republican, is also seeking a second term. His primary challenger is Roy Burke II of Brunswick.

Paul Gilligan of Burkittsville is the only Democrat in the race.

Subdistrict 3B is mostly in Frederick County, but also takes in the southern tip of Washington County.

Donald B. Elliott of New Windsor, the Subdistrict 4B incumbent, and Bob Lubitz of Westminster are facing off in a Republican primary. Elliott is finishing his fifth term.

The lone Democrat running is Timothy Schlauch of Westminster.

Subdistrict 4B is in Frederick and Carroll counties.

Two delegates from Frederick County's Subdistrict 4A are unopposed in the primary: Republicans Joseph R. Bartlett of Middletown, who is finishing his second term, and Paul S. Stull of Walkersville, who is finishing his third term.

Maggi Margaret Hays of Walkersville is the Democratic candidate.

Two of the three 4A candidates will win delegate seats in the Nov. 7 general election.

Delegates and senators serve four-year terms.

The Herald-Mail Articles