Outlaws, sprint cars head speedway slate

July 30, 2006

HAGERSTOWN - August kicks off at Hagerstown Speedway when the World of Outlaw Late Models arrive for their only appearance, Saturday August 5th at the 25th Silver Anniversary Conococheague race on Saturday, Aug. 5. On Aug. 6, the National Sprint tour returns for its final appearance of the 2006 season.

Defending champion Billy Moyer will lead the contingent of WoO drivers

to the Hagerstown half-mile. He is currently in a tight point race with

Tim McCreadie, Rick Eckert, Darrell Lanigan, Shane Clanton, Steve

Francis, and Chub Frank for the WoO top spot, as fewer than 100 points the drivers.

They will be facing one of the toughest local fields of late models on the east coast. Five-time Conococheague winner Gary Stuhler, two-time event winner and eight-time track champion Nathan Durboraw, current point leader Roy Deese Jr. and the rest of the Hagerstown regulars will make this a very exciting night of racing.


Grandstands open at 5 p.m. and the pit gate at 4 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m., followed by time trials. The Pure Stocks will also be on hand. General admission is $30, pit insurance, $35 and reserved seat, $35. Children under 12 are admitted free.

Tim Kaeding with 11 NST feature wins, along with "The King" Steve Kinser, Danny Lasoski and Jason Solwold, winner of the June NST feature at Hagerstown will be on hand for the Aug. 6 sprint event. See them take on Fred Rahmer, Lance Dewease, Lucas Wolfe, Todd Shaffer, and the rest of the PA Posse.

The Late-Model Sportsman will also run on this racing program. Grandstands open at 4:30 p.m., pit gate at 3:30 p.m. Hot laps start at 6:30 p.m., followed by time trials.

General admission is $30, pit insurance, $35 and reserved seat, $35. Children under 12 are admitted free.

Hagerstown Speedway is located 6 miles west of Hagerstown on Route 40. For more information call the speedway office at 301-582-0640, or visit our Web site at

The Herald-Mail Articles