27 graduate from Broadfording

July 03, 2006

Twenty-seven students graduated May 21 from Broadfording Christian Academy in a ceremony at Broadfording Bible Brethren Church.

Academy founder William H. Freed Jr. was a keynote speaker and presented the diplomas.

Zachary Lewis Hirsch and Christina Joy Conner were co-valedictorians.

Zachary is the son of Fredric and Valerie Hirsch of Hagerstown. He plans to attend Hagerstown Community College and transfer in two years to the University System of Maryland. His speech was titled "Against All Odds."

Christina is the daughter of Eben and Sue Conner of Big Pool. She plans to attend Shenandoah University in Winchester, Va., and hopes to earn a doctorate in physical therapy. Her speech was titled "Dare to Dream."

Cindel Marie Young and Hannah Nicole Bywaters were co-salutatorians.

Cindel is the daughter of Steven and Tamela Young of McConnellsburg, Pa. She plans to attend Shippensburg (Pa.) University to pursue a degree in elementary education. Her speech was titled "Building on a Firm Foundation."


Hannah is the daughter of Henry and Julie Bywaters of Clear Spring. She plans to attend Lancaster (Pa.) Bible College and pursue a degree in Bible and music ministries. Her speech was titled "A Time to Come Together and a Time to Go Separate Ways."

Other members of the graduating class were Nathan B. Adams, Eric F. Ahalt, Leslie M. Brown, Jessica L. Burkett, Melissa A. Campagna, Nina M. Crist, Allison R. Crutchfield, Joshua J. Dunk, Jessica M. Fath, Zachary M. Fraker, Sarah M.B. Hartman, Kelly E. Herrick, Angie L. Horvat, Caleb T. Horvat, Kevin S. Lovelace, Ryan E. McAllister, Sarah D. McKinsey, Stephanie M. Midkiff, Allison L. Perry, Isaac K. Shelton, Brian M. Snyder, Nicholas D. Wagner and Matthew B. Yeager.

The following seniors received awards and scholarships:

· Hannah Bywaters - Lancaster Bible College academic scholarship, Lancaster Bible College first-place Music Competition scholarship, Awana Citation Award scholarship, Bobson Pride scholarship, True Grit scholarship and Mercedes-Benz USA scholarship.

· Melissa Campagna - Broadfording Christian Academy Senior Citizenship Award and a Hagerstown Business College scholarship.

· Christina Conner - Presidential Scholarship from Shenandoah University.

· Zachary Hirsch - Senior High Academic Achievement Award for the highest grade-point average in the senior class, and the Male National Scholar/Athlete Award from the U.S. Army.

· Brian Snyder - 2006 Robin Angle Award, the highest senior honor given to the student who demonstrates Christian character, citizenship and school spirit, and the Long Meadow Shopping Center Association's Citizenship Award.

· Cindel Young - Female National Scholar/Athlete Award from the U.S. Army.

The Herald-Mail Articles