Six Franklin County juniors among 10 in Pa. to recieve scholars

June 26, 2006

WEST CONSHOHOCKEN, Pa. - Six Franklin County high school juniors have been awarded Lenfest College Scholarships.

The scholarship recipients are Christa Hoover and Theodore Waddelow of Greencastle-Antrim High School; Michael Kegerreis of Chambersburg Area Senior High School; Zachary Kinley and Megan Von Rembow of Waynesboro Area Senior High School; and Shane Rife of James Buchanan High School.

The students are among 10 Pennsylvania high school juniors who were selected for the award. The juniors are eligible to receive up to $15,000 per year for four years of attendance at an accredited U.S. college or university.

In order to receive the scholarship, the students must remain enrolled in their schools and graduate in 2007. The students then must enroll full time at an accredited U.S. college or university by the fall of 2007 and make normal progress toward an undergraduate degree.


The foundation also awarded one-time scholarships of $1,000 each to nine finalists from Franklin County. The finalists are Troy Boggs of Fannett-Metal High School; Cari Cline, Domingo Perez Jr., Ryan Rickrode and Andrea Ritchie of Chambersburg Area Senior High School; Michael Donghia and Lillian Ostoich of James Buchanan High School; and Colleen Labutta and Laura Louzon of Greencastle-Antrim High School.

The finalists must graduate from their schools in 2007 and enroll full time at an accredited U.S. college or university in the fall of 2007 to receive the scholarship.

Scholarships were awarded based on a student's ambition to succeed at a challenging college or university, a student's academic achievement and potential, a student's leadership qualities and financial need.

The Lenfest College Scholarship Program is open to students in their junior year at Chambersburg Area, Fannett-Metal, Greencastle-Antrim, James Buchanan and Waynesboro Area high schools in Franklin County; Biglerville, Bermudian Springs and New Oxford high schools in Adams County; Octorara Area High School in Chester County; and Upper Perkiomen High School in Montgomery County.

H.F. and Marguerite Lenfest established the Lenfest Foundation in 2000. The foundation is dedicated to supporting programs that provide individuals of all ages and backgrounds with opportunities to help themselves improve the quality of their lives.

The foundation supports the Lenfest College Preparatory Program, Lenfest College Scholarship Program, Lenfest Oceans Program and an array of other programs in education, arts and culture, and the environment.

For information on the Lenfest Foundation, go to

The Herald-Mail Articles