Fifth-graders recognized for outstanding citizenship

June 21, 2006

The annual Elementary Principal's Citizenship Award Program was held May 25 at North Hagerstown High School. Fifth-graders from across Washington County were recognized for outstanding citizenship.

Students received certificates and plaques. Following the ceremony, students and their families were honored at a reception in the cafeteria.

Selection criteria that each student must demonstrate for the Principal's Citizenship Award include pride and respect toward students and adults; pride and respect toward the school, its rules and property; participation in class discussions and school activities; and maximum effort to do well academically.

A committee from the Washington County Association of Elementary School Administrators organizes the awards program each year. This year's event was sponsored by Hamilton Nissan and pictures were provided through Larry Allen & Co.

Bester - Dylan Appel, Logan Appel, Joycelyn Scott, Aaron Roby and Ethan Spoonire.

Boonsboro - Abigail Duncan, Emily Mercier, Cole Rippeon and Samantha Smith.

Cascade - Samantha R. Gladhill and James D. Griffith.


Clear Spring - McKenzie Divelbiss, Timothy Rosendale and Adam White.

Conococheague - Stephani Frisby and Jeremy Miller.

Eastern - Jordan Barker, Halima Bayoh, Madeleine Niang and Ian Roseborough.

Emma K. Doub - Jasmine Rafter, Megan Bell, Chance Younker and Mikaela Gift.

Fountain Rock - Allison Staubs and Lauren Weicht.

Fountaindale - Shawna Ashby, Cortney Carter, Anna Compton and Emily Irwin.

Greenbrier - Christopher A. Snyder and Hannah N. Froehlich.

Hancock - Tanner Faith and Emily Harvey.

Hickory - Karly Branigan-Coleman and Teela Brown.

Lincolnshire - Hannah Kastelein, Stephanie Streeter, Quentin Watson and Joshua Wilson.

Maugansville - Justus Dalton Jobe, Celene McNair and Emma Gist.

Old Forge - Jacob A. Dwyer, Melanie E. Garvey and Ryan J. Bolton.

Pangborn - Jenaya Francis, Darian Kamara, Alek Redenbo and Katie Wilson.

Paramount - Samuel Robertson, Zane Schreiber, Conner Troxell and Caroline Wills.

Pleasant Valley - Destiny Harmon and Phillip McField.

Potomac Heights - Adam J. Shuster and Jessica C. Thwaite.

Salem Avenue - Kirsten Burr, Matthew Mills, Misty Nalley, Shelinia Henson, Bobby Zhang, Tiffany Vincent and Brandon McKenzie.

Sharpsburg - Kelsey Eichelberger and Tyler Hebert.

Smithsburg - Rachel Babylon, Ashlee Metzger and Joshua Yoder.

Williamsport - Stephen Flessner, Samantha Taylor and Seth Thompson.

Winter Street - Alan Clark, Isaiah Merrill and Andrew Snodderly.

The Herald-Mail Articles