Franklin County GOP picks Taylor to lead party

June 15, 2006|by DON AINES

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - The Franklin County Republican Committee has a new chairman to helm the party for the next two years.

James B. Taylor, 63, of Mercersburg, Pa., was elected at a meeting of county committee members Monday night. Taylor was the only nominee for the post and replaces Roger Beckner, who chose not to run for another term.

"There's an immediate goal of maximizing turnout for this election" and getting Republican nominees elected to office in November, said Taylor, chairman of the Greencastle, Pa.-based America's Political Action Committee. "The long-term goal is to build the Republican Party and make it even stronger in Franklin County."

That includes reaching out to young professionals and college students, Taylor said.

Republicans hold a 2-to-1 edge over Democrats among registered voters in the county, according to the county Voter Registration Office.

The Republicans re-elected Kathy Mahon of Chambersburg as treasurer, Taylor said. Roger Osbaugh of Chambersburg was appointed the committee's political director, he said.


The change in leadership for the GOP comes after the county's Democratic Committee elected new officers last week, naming Beth Shupp-George of Greene Township chairwoman.

Among the candidates voters have to choose between in the Nov. 7 general election are Democratic Gov. Ed Rendell and GOP nominee Lynn Swann; Republican U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum and Democratic nominee Bob Casey Jr.; Republican Ninth District U.S. Rep. Bill Shuster and Democratic nominee Tony Barr; 89th District state Rep. Rob Kauffman and Democratic nominee Andrew Alosi.

One primary race yet to be decided is the Democratic nomination for the 90th District to the Pennsylvania House of Representatives. Incumbent Republican state Rep. Patrick E. Fleagle lost the GOP nomination to challenger Todd Rock, but both are trying to secure the Democratic nomination by write-in.

The county Election Board will hold hearings on each candidate's petition to consolidate write-in votes on Thursday, June 22. Fleagle is asking the board to consolidate 339 write-in votes and Rock petitioned for consolidation of 337.

Rock also has a recount petition filed with the Court of Common Pleas pending the outcome of the hearings before the Election Board.

The Herald-Mail Articles