2 incumbents are ousted in Boonsboro



Two incumbents lost their bids for re-election to seats on Boonsboro's Town Council Tuesday night and two other incumbents retained their seats.

Incumbents Raymond D. Grove and Ray C. Hoffman did not receive enough votes to keep their seats.

Councilmen Kevin M. Chambers and Richard E. Hawkins Sr. won re-election, with each receiving 148 votes. Chambers was appointed to the council in December 2005. Hawkins is a longtime councilman and town treasurer.Newcomers Natalie J. Mose and Mervin F. Nuice were the top vote-getters. Mose, who has served on town committees, received 176 votes. Nuice received 153 votes.

"Right now, I'm still in shock," he said.

Nuice said he was looking forward to continuing efforts to make Boonsboro a better place to live.

"I'm going to do what I can to control the growth," he said.

Growth was a primary issue in the campaign.

Mose had run for a position on the council twice before without success, and said that this time, voters were ready for a change.


She also recognized that her stance on growth might have been what helped her win.

"I think we're big enough," she said. "I want to limit growth."

Assistant Mayor Howard W. Long ran unopposed and was re-elected with 263 votes.

"I'm pleased and look forward to working with the new council," he said.

Long has served on the council for 23 years, first as a councilman, then as assistant mayor.

Grove, who received 132 votes, had been on the town council for 14 years.

"I think it's been a good 14 years," he said Tuesday night.

Hoffman, who was appointed to the council in January, received 101 votes Tuesday.

"They probably figured it was time for a change," Hoffman said.

He said he was pleased by the voter turnout for the election.

"This is unusual," Hoffman said. "We've never had this big of a turnout before."

There were 336 votes cast in the election.

Roni R. Bane, a barber at Pete's Barber Shop on North Main Street, received 71 votes. G. Jeffrey Kerns received 93 votes. Milbert T. Rose, a retired Maryland State Police trooper, received 83 votes.

Some people not on the ballot received write-in votes.

The Herald-Mail Articles