Business people

May 07, 2006

Dr. David Solberg

Dr. David Solberg, M.D., F.A.C.O.G., has been selected as one of America's Top Obstetricians & Gynecologists by the Consumers Research Council of America.

The selection process is based on education, years in practice, and affiliations with professional associations.

Mackintosh Inc.

FREDERICK, Md. - Shaunette Terrelonge, of Frederick, recently joined the residential sales team at the Frederick office of Mackintosh Inc., Realtors.

A member of the Greater Capital Area Association of Realtors, she has an extensive background working in both the mortgage and settlement industries. She also did coursework in business administration at Montgomery College in Rockville, Md.


Bridget O'Connor VanOutryve, a Frederick County resident, recently joined the residential sales team at Mackintosh Inc. Realtors' Frederick office.

She is a member of the Frederick County Association of Realtors.


FREDERICK, Md. - George Hines, manager, Office Services, recently retired after 22 years with the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA).

Hines, of Hagerstown, was responsible for managing AOPA fulfillment and mailing jobs through several outside mailhouses. He also managed the daily operation of AOPA's internal mailroom and supervised four employees.

During his tenure at AOPA, Hines held various positions in the Accounting and Office Services departments. He began his career at AOPA as the inventory control coordinator, and was promoted to inventory control manager. In 1995, he was promoted to manager, AOPA Fulfillment Center.

Ellsworth Electric

Allen Hovermale has joined the management team of Ellsworth Electric Inc. as an executive assistant.

He has 26 years of commercial and military program management experience in both domestic and international programs. He will assist John Barr and the Ellsworth management staff in the execution of the company's goals.


IRVING, Texas - Nexstar Broadcasting Group Inc. announced that WHAG-TV won two Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Reporter Cara Sinclair won an award in the Feature Reporting category for a story on a woman who remains active at age 90.

Sports director Josh Reed won an award for his story about a 17 year-old local high school basketball player who flies a Cessna as a certified pilot.

EZ Dumper Products LLC

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - Robert Bakner has been named EZ Dumper Products LLC's Employee of the Month for March.

Bakner, of Zullinger, Pa., was selected by the production supervisors for excellence in productivity, attendance, safety, quality and assisting others. He began working at EZ Dumper in 1999.

Richard Reeder

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Richard Reeder, with Jack Guaghen Realtor ERA, has been awarded the accredited buyer representation designation by the Real Estate Buyers Agency Council Inc. of the National Association of Realtors.

He joins more than 32,000 real estate professionals in North America who have earned the ABR designation. All were required to successfully complete a comprehensive course in buyer representation and an elective course focusing on a buyer representation specialty, in addition to submitting documentation verifying professional experience.


MARTIINSBURG, W.Va. - Martinsburg radio station WEPM received awards at two statewide broadcasters conventions.

At the annual West Virginia Broadcasters Association meetings in Morgantown April 8, the station won the Legendary Radio Station of the Year award, given to one station a year, regardless of market size. The award can be won only once by a station.

WEPM staff members won first-place awards in the following categories, for unranked markets:

Best Newscast - News Director Chris Strovel.

Best Sportscast - Program Director Jay Young.

Personality of the Year - Strovel.

At the West Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters Association Convention in Charleston on April 22, WEPM won three first-place awards:

Best Talk Show, for a segment that focused on a school bus stabbing in Berkeley County, W.Va. Strovel hosted and Judy Boykin was co-host.

Best Interview, for a segment featuring Gov. Joe Manchin, hosted by Strovel, state Sen. John Unger, and The (Martinsburg) Journal editor Maria Lorensen.

Best Regularly Scheduled Sportscast, "Morning Show" host Young.

WEPM also won two Honorable Mention awards, in the categories of Best Host, Strovel; and Outstanding Sports Operation, Young.

San Mar Inc.

San Mar Inc. staff members were recognized at the annual Staff Appreciation Luncheon April 19 in Boonsboro.

Thirty valued professionals recognized for working with San Mar for five or more years are:

Five years - Sally Poole, Anita Folk, Tracy Wells and Robert Stoops.

Six years - Geraldine Beard and Shawnee Starliper.

Seven years - Ernest Henry, Pat Wadsworth, Toni Crampton, Yuba Mellot and Elizabeth "Becky" Carpenter.

Eight years - Melissa Wettstein, Delores "Jean" Ogburn, Marie Lowman, Patricia Winebrenner, Gina Figel and Megan Farmer.

10 years - Sam Clark.

13 years - Paul Leatherman.

15 years - Debra Gates.

17 years - Mary Clark, Ellen Savoy and Christine Stoops.

18 years - Delores "Mickey" Jackson.

19 years - Millie Steinke.

20 years - Bruce Anderson.

21 years - Patricia Mose and June Eggleton.

23 years - Mary Moser.

29 years - Sallie Dorsey.

38 years - Betty Shank.

Lady Emily

Mary Shindle of Hagerstown on April 1 was named a team leader with Lady Emily Cosmetics.

She started with Lady Emily in June 2005 as an independent consultant. She was given team leader status for rapidly expanding her team and growing her business.

The Herald-Mail Articles