Lenfest Foundation awards scholarships to 14 students

April 17, 2006

WEST CONSHOHOCKEN, Pa. - The Lenfest Foundation has awarded 14 public school students from Franklin County scholarships to attend college preparatory boarding schools.

The students are among 24 middle- and high-school students selected to receive a Lenfest Scholarship, which provides tuition, room and board to one of four Pennsylvania college preparatory boarding schools. Students from the five public school districts in Franklin County and from select school districts in Adams, Chester and Montgomery counties were eligible to receive scholarships.

With the 2006 scholarships, the Lenfest Foundation now has assisted 92 students since the program was founded in 2001.

Franklin County students receiving the scholarships and the schools they will attend beginning in the fall of 2006 are:

Mercersburg (Pa.) Academy

  • Brookke Mahaffey, Waynesboro Area School District

  • Bruce McLaughlin, Waynesboro Area School District

  • Matthew Young, Tuscarora School District.

Westtown (Pa.) School

  • Kaitlin Atkinson, Waynesboro Area School District

  • Emily Eadie, Greencastle-Antrim School District

  • Nolan Walck, Waynesboro Area School District

Perkiomen School in Pennsburg, Pa.

  • Stephanie Black, Tuscarora School District

  • Russell Erby, Fannett-Metal School District

  • Davis Rajtik, Chambersburg Area School District

  • Amnesty Yurek, Waynesboro Area School District

Wyoming Seminary in Kingston, Pa.

  • Heath Daniel, Waynesboro Area School District

  • Sarah Davenport, Tuscarora School District

  • Matthew Smith, Waynesboro Area School District

  • Rachel Tucker, Waynesboro Area School District

The students will continue to receive tuition, room and board through graduation provided they meet all school and foundation requirements. The scholarships were awarded based on a student's academic potential, leadership qualities, personal development, ability to succeed at a college preparatory boarding school and family financial need.

H.F. (Gerry) and Marguerite Lenfest established the Lenfest Foundation in 2000. The foundation primarily supports the Lenfest College Preparatory Program, the Lenfest College Scholarship Program and the Lenfest Oceans Program. More information is available at

The Herald-Mail Articles