Around West Hagerstown

March 09, 2006|by JUDI DOMINGUEZ

Hagerstown Lions Club scholarships

The very active Lions Club awards two scholarships each year. Applications may be picked up by seniors at the guidance offices at North High, South High, and Technical High. Students will compete for the two scholarship awards. All applications must be returned by April 15.

West Hagerstown Lions Club

West Hagerstown Lions Club was host for the third zone meeting on Feb. 20. Each club within the zone presented its calendar of events for the coming months.

The club will be making ham sandwiches to be delivered March 23. Country ham sandwiches will cost $2 and baked ham sandwiches are $1.50. All orders must be turned in by March 14. For questions, please call Phyllis at 301-797-4499.



The following Western Heights Middle School students were selected to play in the Hagerstown Junior Basketball League All-Star games:

Junior Red Division - Nick Stubbs.

Junior Blue Division - Dominic Dickson.

Blue Division B Team - David Powell, Anthony Wells, Delaontay Smith, Aaron Stottlemyer.

Red Division B Team - Jake Bachtell, Tevon Davies, Virgil Smith, Billy Norris

Elementary Red Division - Matt Stambaugh.

Elementary Blue Division - Brandon Hess.

All-Stars from St. Mary's are:

Junior Red Division B Team - Jay Donahue.

Junior Blue Division A Team - James Eckert.

Elementary B Team - Ben Loderbeck.

The All-Star games will be played Saturday, March 18, at St. Maria Goretti High School. Play starts at 1 p.m. with the Junior Division B teams and will be followed by the Elementary game and the Junior Division A team games.

In case you can't attend the game, look forward to seeing it on Antietam Cable Channel 19 on March 25 at 2 p.m. and on March 29 and April 1, at 7 p.m. both days.

For more information, check the league's new Web site at

In memory

In loving memory of my son, Kristoffer Phillip Loden, on his 31st birthday March 8:

Neither time nor change can erase the memory of you so dear.

You forever live in our hearts, memories and the face of your son.

Salem Avenue Geography Bee

Participants in Salem Avenue School's Geography Bee included, front row, from left: Kirsten Burr, Yi Lin Fan, Amber Sisk, Emilie Cave, Adam Tagg and Olivia Shoop; back row: Caleb Jones, Bobby Zhang, Johnny Deagrella, David Moser, Arinn Martin and Ryan Hodges. Bobby Zhang was the winner for the second straight year, and Caleb Jones was runner-up.

The Herald-Mail Articles