Do you know who will win Oscar gold?

February 21, 2006

Tri-State readers who pick the winning Oscar nominees from the 10 categories listed will have a chance to win $50 and be declared the winner.

Mail entries to Oscar Picks Contest; c/o Lifestyle; The Herald-Mail Co.; P.O. Box 439; Hagerstown, MD 21741; or e-mail entries to Please type "Oscar picks" in the subject line. Please include your name and a daytime phone number.

To be eligible to win, contestants must live in Washington or Frederick counties in Maryland, Franklin or Fulton counties in Pennsylvania, or Berkeley, Jefferson or Morgan counties in West Virginia.

The contestant with the most correct picks will win. If there is a tie, a drawing will be held to decide the winner.


Entries are due by 5 p.m. Friday, March 3.

The 78th Academy Awards will air on ABC the night of Sunday, March 5.

Pick the winners from 10 categories to win

The categories and nominees for The Herald-Mail contest are:

1. Picture: "Brokeback Mountain," "Capote," "Crash," "Good Night, and Good Luck," and "Munich."

2. Director: Ang Lee, "Brokeback Mountain"; Bennett Miller, "Capote"; Paul Haggis, "Crash"; George Clooney, "Good Night, and Good Luck"; and Steven Spielberg, "Munich."

3. Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman, "Capote"; Terrence Howard, "Hustle & Flow"; Heath Ledger, "Brokeback Mountain"; Joaquin Phoenix, "Walk the Line"; and David Strathairn, "Good Night, and Good Luck."

4. Actress: Judi Dench, "Mrs. Henderson Presents"; Felicity Huffman, "Transamerica"; Keira Knightley, "Pride & Prejudice"; Charlize Theron, "North Country"; and Reese Witherspoon, "Walk the Line."

5. Supporting actor: George Clooney, "Syriana"; Matt Dillon, "Crash"; Paul Giamatti, "Cinderella Man"; Jake Gyllenhaal, "Brokeback Mountain"; and William Hurt, "A History of Violence."

6. Supporting actress: Amy Adams, "Junebug"; Catherine Keener, "Capote"; Frances McDormand, "North Country"; Rachel Weisz, "The Constant Gardener"; and Michelle Williams, "Brokeback Mountain."

7. Adapted screenplay: Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, "Brokeback Mountain"; Dan Futterman, "Capote"; Jeffrey Caine, "The Constant Gardener"; Josh Olson, "A History of Violence"; and Tony Kushner and Eric Roth, "Munich."

8. Original screenplay: Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco, "Crash"; George Clooney and Grant Heslov, "Good Night, and Good Luck"; Woody Allen, "Match Point"; Noah Baumbach, "The Squid and the Whale"; and Stephen Gaghan, "Syriana."

9. Animated feature film: "Howl's Moving Castle," "Tim Burton's Corpse Bride" and "Wallace & Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit."

10. Documentary: "Darwin's Nightmare," "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room," "March of the Penguins," "Murderball" and "Street Fight."

The Herald-Mail Articles