Advertisement

HCC professor writes intro to literary work

January 26, 2006

Hagerstown Community College professor Askold Skalsky has written the introduction to Adi Da Samraj's "The Mummery Book, A Parable of the Divine True Love."

Adi Da Samraj asked Skalsky in the summer of 2003 about writing the introduction, and Skalsky spent 10 months on the project.

"It was an honor to be asked to write the introduction to this highly original experimental work in the vein of James Joyce and Gertrude Stein," Skalsky said.

The book has been in the making since 1957.

"The Mummery Book," described by the author as a prose opera, takes the reader on a journey of transformation and spiritual growth through the experiences of the main character, Raymond Darling.

Advertisement

This is the first introduction to a literary work Skalsky has had published. Last year, Skalsky was honored by the Maryland State Arts Council for his poetry.

The book was published by The Dawn Horse Press in Middletown, Calif., in November. Copies of "The Mummery Book" are available at local booksellers.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|