Warriors get last laugh at Draper

December 30, 2005|by TRAVIS KING/Staff Correspondent

SMITHSBURG - Boonsboro and Smithsburg followed that special script written for undefeated teams.

Two teams with spotless records played to the last four minutes of the game and still needed four lead changes to settle it all.

In the end, the Warriors girls came out on top, using Jerica Hewett's 15 points and five rebounds Thursday to take a 52-49 victory over the Leopards to win the Pap Draper Classic championship.

"It always feels good to win, but in my opinion, two good teams went at it," said Boonsboro coach Max Shaffer Jr.


Smithsburg tied the game at 41-41 with 5:35 remaining on Gretchen Downey's layup. Boonsboro answered with a basket by Amy Rhoderick's shot to regain the lead. Smithsburg's Teonna Jewell made a layup and a subsequent free throw gave the Leopards their first lead of the game, 44-43.

Boonsboro unleashed a 5-0 run with just over two minutes remaining but the Leopards answered right back with five points of their own, keyed by Laura Sudec's basket with 41 seconds remaining to give Smithsburg a 49-48 lead. Rhoderick's layup at the 30-second mark gave Boonsboro the lead for good.

"I told the girls to run off and be patient and hit the boards," said Shaffer. "They (played) better defense and covered Smithsburg's shooters well."

Alex Baker scored 13 points while Rhoderick showed inside presence by grabbing 10 rebounds for Boonsboro (6-0).

Jewell led all scorers with 19 points and added five rebounds while Sudec scored 11 points and Tara Bywaters had seven boards for the Leopards (4-1).

In the consolation game, Lindsay Holliday scored 15 points and Detonia DeGross added 14 as Fort Hill (5-2) defeated St. Maria Goretti, 48-35. Sarah Spierenburg led the Gaels (6-5) with 12 points.

Hewett, Baker and Rhoderick represented Boonsboro on the all-tournament team while Jewell, Sudec and Bywaters were selected from Smithsburg. Spierenburg and Kathleen Costello from Goretti and Fort Hill's Holliday and DeGross were also named to the team.

The Herald-Mail Articles