Durboraw crowned champ

December 19, 2005

The Hagerstown Speedway wrapped up the 2005 season with its annual awards banquet Saturday night at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center in Hagerstown.

The highlight of the evening was the crowning of Hagerstown's Nathan Durboraw as the 2005 late model track champion. Durboraw returned to late model racing on a weekly basis after taking a couple of years off and recorded his eighth late model track championship. In 12 point races, he had two feature wins and four top-five finishes.

Darryl Burkholder of, Chambersburg, Pa., was the late model sportsman track champ. He had two feature wins and seven top fives in 13 point races.

Ronnie Dennis, of Jessup, Md., was the Ernie's Salvage Yark pure stock division champ, finishing in the top five in 12 of 13 races.


Several special awards were presented to the drivers in all three divisions.

The late model awards were presented to: Brain Booze of Marion, Pa. (Most Improved Driver Award); Roy Deese Jr. of Laurel, Md. (Hard Luck Award); Alan Sagi of Hagerstown (Sportsmanship Award); Allen Brannon of Winchester, Va. (Rookie of the Year Award) and Ronnie Dehaven of Winchester (Best Appearing Car Award).

The late model sportsman division awards went to: Tyler Armstrong of St. Thomas, Pa. (Most Improved Driver Award); Dale Smith Jr. of Baltimore (Rookie of the Year Award); Pete Weaver of Williamsport (Hard Luck Award); Arlin Brougher of New Oxford, Pa. (Sportsmanship Award) and Scott Palmer of Greencastle, Pa. (Best Appearing Car Award).

The pure stock award winners were: Wayne Hawbaker of Greencastle (Most Improved Driver Award); Hans Stamberg of Hedgesville, W.Va. (Sportsmanship Award); Rick Stouffer of Hagerstown (Hard Luck Award), and Brian Tavenner of Winchester (Best Appearing Car Award).

The Crew Chief of the Year awards were presented to the crew chiefs of the championship cars - Squiggy Bland (late model), Bill Hager (late model sportsman) and Kenny Dennis (pure stocks).

Also, Greencastle's Jeff Robinson, a track champion in 1985 and '87, was inducted into the Hagerstown Speedway Hall of Fame. He is seventh on the all-time win list with 38 career victories.

The Hagerstown Speedway will begin its 2006 season on Feb. 26.

The Herald-Mail Articles