Washington County briefs

September 28, 2005|by TARA REILLY

Six named to Code Home Rule Task Force

The Washington County Commissioners on Tuesday approved six people to serve on the eight-member Code Home Rule Task Force.

They are:

  • County Emergency Services Director Joe Kroboth

  • County Attorney John Martirano

  • Monda Sagalkin, representative of the League of Women Voters of Washington County

  • Brien Poffenberger, representative the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce

  • Ed Zayas, representative of the Greater Hagerstown Committee

  • Mary Ellen Waltemire, a commissioners appointee

    Two more people will be named to the task force - a representative chosen by the Washington County Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly and another person appointed by the commissioners. The task force will study a possible change from the county's commission government to a type of home rule.

    Employees recognized

    Sixteen Washington County employees from three departments were given certificates Tuesday by the County Commissioners for their efforts in implementing Accela Wireless in the Permits and Inspections Department.

    The commissioners presented the employees, from the permits and inspections, information technologies and highway departments, with Certificates of Merit. The county received national recognition as "Leader of the Year in implementing Mobile Government Solutions" at the recent Accela Conference in San Diego, according to information provided by the county.


The county was recognized as a leader among 75 jurisdictions throughout the country, according to the information.

Four named to boards

Four people were either appointed or reappointed to Washington County boards Tuesday.

Wayne Alter was appointed to the Airport Advisory Commission for a three-year term. He replaces Anton Dahbura, whose term expires on Oct. 1. Gordon Crabb and Spence Perry were reappointed to the commission.

The County Commissioners also appointed Melissa Kline as an at-large representative to the Mental Health Authority.

The Herald-Mail Articles