Pageant board officers elected

September 22, 2005

The Miss Washington County-Miss Western Maryland Scholarship Foundation recently elected the following officers for 2005-06:

  • Co-Executive Directors - Denise Apple and Sandy Miller

  • President - Julie Schimmel

  • Vice President - Ronald Thomas

  • Secretary/Treasurer - Barbara Carson

  • Assistant Treasurer - Melissa Singhas-Hummer

Other members of the all-volunteer Board of Directors are Ed Dorsey, Jan Dorsey, Tom Riford, Jessica Schlotterbeck and Debbie Smith. Board meetings are the second Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. at the Plaza Hotel. New members are welcome.

The foundation's annual scholarship pageant will be Saturday Feb. 18, 2006, at Hagerstown Community College. Scholarships are awarded annually to young women 18 to 24 years old or a graduating high school senior.

Registrations are being accepted by Jan Dorsey at 301-733-8278. Deadline for registration is Feb. 1. A contestant orientation session has been scheduled for Jan. 7, 2006. Last year, $7,000 in scholarship money was awarded.


The third annual "Taste of Washington County" has been set for Nov. 6, at the Plaza Hotel at 12:30 p.m. Tickets cost $25 and may be purchased from any board member.

The Herald-Mail Articles