Covert takes second late-model win at Speedway

August 19, 2005

HAGERSTOWN - Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa. scored his second win of the season in the 25-lap late-model feature, Steve Axtell of Glen Burnie notched his first win of the year in the 20-lap Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic/A&C Racing Engines late-model sportsman and Mike Warrenfeltz held off Brian Tavenner for his third win of the year in the 15-lap Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stock main event. Tracy Abbott of McConnellsburg, Pa. outlasted 14 cars to win the 4-cyl demo-derby and $500.

Kenny Shipley led the first three laps in the late-model feature as Covert started seventh. Jerry Foster worked his way to the front on the fourth lap as Covert moved into the runner-up spot on the next lap. Covert closed in on Foster on the eighth lap and used the high groove coming off the fourth turn to take the lead on lap 10. Alan Sagi passed Foster for second on lap 14, but steering problems put Sagi into the first turn guardrail on the 20th lap.


On the restart, second-place Foster and fourth-place Frankie Plessinger, who had worked his way up from 15th, got tangled up, bringing out another caution and moving Allen Brannon into the runner-up spot. Brannon tried to chase down the leader in the final five laps, but Covert fought off the challenge for the win.

"We were running pretty good, we got up there early," said Covert. "We were pretty good on the bottom, could move all around on the track. Early we were a little free on the entry, then once the right rear tire fired it took off. We have a new motor in the car tonight after racing last night. I want to thank Rick Eckert and Robby Allen, they have really helped me to get around this track."

Following Covert and Brannon were Darryl Hills and Jere Wierman. Roy Deese Jr came from 20th to round out the top five and the Ernie's Salvage Yard Hard Charger Award. Donnie Farling, Plessinger, Ronnie Dehaven, Shipley and Billy Wampler completed the top 10. Heat winners for the 22 cars were Andy Anderson, Nathan Durboraw and Wierman. Both Durboraw and Anderson, first and second place in the point standings, had problems in the early stages of the race and did not finish.

Rusty Sites took the early lead from the pole in the late-model sportsman feature as Steve Axtell started back in sixth. Al Shawver moved into second on the fourth lap and after running even with Sites for a lap, moved in front on lap six. Sites battled back to regain the lead on lap 12 as Axtell passed Shawver for second on lap 16. Axtell came off the second turn on lap 17 in front of Sites and led the rest of the way for his first win of the year.

Sites settled for second and Shawver, who finished third, was disqualified for illegal headers on his engine. Barry Miller was third with point leader Daryl Burkholder coming from 15th for fourth and the St. Thomas Towing Hard Charger Award. Tyler Armstrong, Pete Weaver, Larry Baer, Scott Palmer, Bobby Beard and 22nd-starting Jerry Bard finished out the top 10. Heat winners for the 35

cars were Sites, James Myers, Shawver and Baer. Jared Miller and Bard won the consolations. Wayne Walls Jr and J. Miller were disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Kenny Dillon led the first two laps in the pure stock feature before giving way to Dave Stouffer. Dillon regained the lead on the next lap as Mike Warrenfeltz blasted his way into second after starting 10th. Warrenfeltz passed Dillon on lap six as Dillon rolled to a stop with mechanical problems. On the restart, Warrenfeltz set the pace as Brian Tavenner moved into second on lap seven. Tavenner kept the pressure on the leader the rest of the race, but Warrenfeltz came home first by one car length. Tavenner settled for second and the A&C Engines Hard Charger Award with point leader Ronnie Dennis, Hans Stamberg and D. Stouffer completing the top five. Tavenner, Dillon and Warrenfeltz were the heat winners for the 28 cars.

Abbott won the four-cylinder demolition derby over Tab Rhoderick, Nicki Harshan, Michael Carter and Travis Beaver.

This Saturday, the Mid-Atlantic Championship Series (MACS) late models invade the Hagerstown Speedway for the Concococheague 100, which pays $10,000 to the winner. Joining the late models will be the pure stocks in a double-point championship event. Race time is 7 p.m.

25-Lap Late-Model Feature: 1. Jason Covert (2nd Win) 2. Allen Brannon; 3. Darryl Hills; 4. Jere Wierman; 5. Roy Deese Jr. (Hard Charger); 6. Donnie Farlling; 7. Frankie Plessinger; 8. Ronnie Dehaven; 9. Kenny Shipley; 10. Billy Wampler; 11. Brent Smith; 12. Brian Booze; 13. Jeff Friese; 14. Robby Beall; 15. Alan Sagi; 16. Jerry Foster; 17. Brad Ritter; 18. Charlie Hageage; 19. Richard Walls; 20. Andy Anderson; 21. Nathan Durboraw. DNS: Mike Lupfer. (Lap Leaders: Shipley, 1-3; Foster, 4-9; Covert, 10-25.) 22 cars.

The Herald-Mail Articles