Speedway to host Cornett Memorial race

July 22, 2005

HAGERSTOWN - The Jimmy Cornett Memorial for the Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stocks will headline a three feature program on Saturday night. Joining the pure stocks in their most prestigious race of the year will be the late models and the Hoosier Tires/Mid-Atlantic- A&C Racing Engines late-model sportsman.

Admission is $9 for adults with children under 12 admitted free. Race time is 7 p.m. with gates opening at 5 p.m.

Double points and an increased purse will be on the line for the pure stocks in the 10th Annual Jimmy Cornett Memorial. Defending race champion Ronnie Dennis is in the thick of the battle for the track championship and a win in the Cornett Memorial could easily push him into the lead over point leader Hans Stamberg.

Dennis will have his hands full with drivers like Brian Tavenner who is the hottest driver at Hagerstown with four feature wins. Allen Stone won the inaugural event with Kim Ramer the winner in 1997. Eugene Conley won the following year with Dave Mikolasjki the big winner in 1999. Brian Miller was the winner in 2001 and Warrenfeltz won the event in 2002. Kenny Dillon is the only two-time winner of the event with his wins coming in 2000 and 2003.


Stamberg of Hedgesville, W.Va moved on top of the point standings by 55 points two weeks ago when the season-long point leader Warrenfeltz dropped out of the double point summer championship feature after running into the back of another car.

Dennis, the Jessup, Md. driver also took advantage of Warrenfeltz's misfortunes and is now in second just two points ahead of the defending track champion. Dean Holmes of Cross Junction, Va. and Rick Stouffer of Hagerstown round out the top five in points and a win by either one would get them back into the championship race. With double points on the line, winning the Cornett Memorial will carry a lot of weight in the battle for the track championship.

The other two divisions are locked in close point battles as well. Seven-time track champion Nathan Durboraw of Hagerstown continues to hold down the top spot in the late models with a 89-point lead over Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, W.Va.. Frankie Plessinger is a distant third and is followed by Roy Deese Jr. and Allen Brannon.

Daryl Burkholder of Chambersburg, Pa. has a 67-point lead in the sportsman division over Bobby Beard of Hanover, Pa. Barry Miller, Pete Weaver and Tyler Armstrong complete the top five in the point standings.

The Hagerstown Speedway is located on U.S. Route 40, six miles west of Hagerstown off the Huyett exits of I-70 an I-81. Additional information can be obtained by calling the speedway at 301-582-0640.

The Herald-Mail Articles