Student News June 26

July 02, 2005

The following Washington County students were named to the Dean's List at Bridgewater College, Bridgewater, Va., for the spring 2005 semester:

Jennifer Fields, a freshman majoring in mathematics and chemistry, from Clear Spring.

Jessica Powers, a freshman from Hagerstown.

Tabitha Marie Pryor, a sophomore majoring in history and political science, from Hagerstown.

Ian Ellis, son of John and Betty Ellis of Martinsburg, W.Va., was named to the Cedarville University Dean's List for the 2005 spring semester. Ellis is a senior majoring in political science.

Marissa Diane Clopper of Frederick, Md., graduated with highest honors from Rochester Institute of Technology with a bachelor's degree in biotechnology. Clopper studied in RIT's College of Science. The daughter of Nina and Darryl Clopper of Frederick is a 2001 graduate of Maryland School for the Deaf.


Washington County graduates were among the 349 awarded bachelor's degrees during McDaniel College's 135th Commencement on May 21.

Students from Washington County awarded Bachelor of Arts degrees are:

Boonsboro - Jennifer Rose Elliott; Jacob John Michael, cum laude.

Hagerstown - Danyela Marie Asaro, cum laude; April Danielle Gelwicks; Matthew Roy Cline.

Williamsport - Brooke Elizabeth Weimer, magna cum laude.

Benjamin Daniel Fisler, son of the Rev. and Mrs. J. Herman Fisler of State Line, Pa. earned a Bachelor of Science degree in history education and a Bachelor of Science degree in physical education from Pensacola Christian College, Pensacola, Fla. on May 11.

Mark Wayne Snyder, son of Wilbur & Gloria Snyder of Hagerstown and husband of Wendy Sue Snyder of Hagers-town, graduated from Andersonville Theological Seminary in Camilla, Ga., on May 27 with a Mastor of Pastoral Theology degree. He graduated summa cum laude with a 4.0 GPA.

He is serving as an associate pastor with First Baptist Church of Hagerstown, working with the youth of the church. Snyder is a 1979 graduate of Broadfording Christian Academy. His goal is to study every book of the Bible individually.

The Three-Sport Varsity Athletic Award recognizes students who have earned a varsity letter in three seperate sports during their fifth and sixth (11th- and 12th-grade) years at Saint James. The following students received an award:

Samuel Alden Ashelman of Berkeley Springs, W.Va., soccer, wrestling and lacrosse; Kathryn Norene Davis of Chevy Chase, Md., field hockey, basketball and tennis; Emily Catherine McCormack of Hagerstown, soccer, basketball and lacrosse; Sarah Alice Hessami Morgan of Summit Point, W.Va., soccer, basketball and tennis; and Stephanie Michelle Twigg of Hagerstown, soccer, basketball and tennis.

The Rev D. Stuart Dunnan, headmaster of Saint James School, and Sandra Pollock, Associate Head of School, presented scholastic and nonscholastic awards at the Prize Day Ceremony on June 4.

The following second- through fourth-form (eighth- through 10th-grade) students received prizes:

Excellence in Latin, Excellence in Mathematics, All-round Athletic Ability and the Rich Memorial Prize for Scholarship - Luke Anderson Salisbury, Middletown, Md.;

All-round Athletic Ability - Heather Brooke Lowery, Williamsport;

Excellence in English - McCall Elizabeth Breuer, Smithsburg;

Excellence in Ancient History - Eric Clifton Blake, Middletown;

The Dr. V. Milton Reichard Middle School Science Prize - Carrol Wesley Wollard III, Hagerstown;

The Mary Ann Hatcher Memorial Prize for love of learning and care for fellow students - Philip James Mara III, Chambersburg, Pa.;

Middle School Headmaster's Prize - Sarah Elizabeth Louderback, Hagerstown;

Waller Wynne Prize for non-Western history and culture - James Otto Knable, Hagerstown;

Clarence W. Wheelwright Prize for devotion to duty - Drew Loren St. Lawrence, Plainfield, N.J.;

Tim Shryock Prize for willingness to serve - Hazel Elizabeth Edmunds, Hagerstown.

The following fifth- and sixth-form (11th- and 12th-grade) students received awards:

Excellence in Art - Margaret Muller Kempson, Edisto Island, S.C.;

Excellence in Biology - Candice Hae-jin Choe, Charlottesville, Va.;

Excellence in Music - Elizabeth Ann Carrill, Hagers-town;

Excellence in Spanish - Margaret Stonecipher Vieira, Hendersonville, N.C.;

Excellence in English, Excellence in Chemistry, Excellence in French, Excellence in Mathematics and Excellence in Modern European History - Lauren Michelle Bust, Hagerstown;

The United States History Prize - Catherine Leigh Johnson, Hagerstown;

The Henry Kyd Douglas Prize for English Composition - Leona Danica Leung, Martinsburg;

Bowman-Byron Fine Arts Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts - Sarah Jane McWilliams, Hagerstown;

Excellence in Physics and the Farah Science Prize for outstanding achievement in science - John Peter Richwine, Waynesboro, Pa.;

Excellence in Philosophy and Religion - Eric Midthun Brooks, Sharpsburg;

The John C. Campbell Memorial Prize for Improvement in Oral Communication - Kathryn Alexandra Richwine, Waynesboro and Alexander Hadshi, Frederick, Md.;

The Herald-Mail Articles