Keegin elected Md. economic development association chief

June 20, 2005

ABERDEEN, Md. - Marie S. Keegin, CEcD, executive director of the Frederick County (Md.) Office of Economic Development, was elected president of the Maryland Economic Development Association (MEDA) at the organization's annual conference at Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort.

Other MEDA officers for 2005-06 include:

· John Savich, director, St. Mary's County Department of Economic and Community Development, vice-president.

· Kendl P. Philbrick, secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment, secretary.

· Sean Looney, director, Government Affairs for Comcast, who continues as treasurer.

· Vernon J. Thompson, economic development director for Cecil County, immediate past president.

Keegin served as MEDA's vice president for the past year, and has been executive director of the Frederick County Office of Economic Development since May 2001.

In this position, she has been instrumental in the development of business retention and attraction strategies and programs, the creation of the Frederick County Business Development Advisory Council and the opening of the Frederick County Business & Employment Center.


A Certified economic developer (CEcD) and a resident of Frederick, Keegin has a business degree from Frederick Community College, an economics degree from Hood College and an M.B.A. from Mount St. Mary's College.

The Herald-Mail Articles