Student news June 12

June 16, 2005

The National Society of High School Scholars announced that Heritage Academy student Meredith A. Johnson of Mercersburg, Pa., has been selected for membership.

The announcement was made by NSHSS founder and chairman Claes Nobel, senior member of the Nobel Prize family.

Membership in NSHSS entitles qualified students to enjoy a wide variety of benefits, including scholarship opportunities, academic competitions, free events, member-only resources, publications, participation in programs offered by educational partners, online forums, personalized recognition items, and publicity honors.

The Fleet Reserve, a nonprofit retired military organization, conducts an Americanism Series essay contest each year. This year's topic was "What Freedom of Speech Means to Me." This contest is open to all high school students in the area.

The Frederick, Md., Branch 142 of the association conducted an award ceremony March 23 to honor this year's local entrants.

Two of the essays were selected as winners, one from grades 7-9 and one from grades 10-112. Winners received a $200 savings bond, an American flag that had flown over the U.S. Capitol and a framed award certificate. The two winning essays will be forwarded to the Regional Branch, where they will be judged for some 20 other prizes, the top prize being a $15,000 savings bond.


The winners were Candice Daley, grade 8, of Greencastle, Pa.; and Ashley Tyler, grade 11, of North Hagerstown High School.

Other winners receiving awards were Lynn Brown, Windsor Knolls Middle School, Frederick, Md.; Ryan Carey, grade 8, Walkersville Middle School, Walkersville, Md.; Emily Cradduck, grade 12, Broadfording Christian Academy; Cameron Daley, grade 9, Williamsport High School; Kevin Derr, grade 11, homeschooled, Mount Airy, Md.; Amanda Durski, Cascade, grade 10, Mother Seton School; Anthony Durski, Cascade, grade 8, St. Mary School; Saad Ferox, grade 9, Thomas Johnson Middle School, Frederick, Md.; Sidney Hinds, grade 8, Robert Frost Middle School, North Potomac, Md.; Tyler Jones, grade 8, Ballenger Creek Middle School, Frederick; Sarah Philabaum, New Market, Md., grade 12, Gov. Thomas Johnson High School; Grant Piccerillo, New Market, grade 10, Linganore High School; Bryant Sandell, grade 12, Heritage Academy; Matt Sanicola, grade 12, Frederick High School.

Four Hagerstown students are members of the graduating class of 2005 at Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Va.

Sarah M. Miller received a Bachelor of Science degree in liberal arts with an elementary education licensure PreK-6. She is the daughter of Rodney and Susan Miller.

Jill E. Parker received a Bachelor of Science degree in social work. She is the daughter of James and Joanne Parker.

Phoebe M. Smith received a Bachelor of Arts degree in computer information systems and computer science, magna cum laude (grade-point average 3.80-3.89). She is the daughter of Douglass and Carole Smith.

Natalie R. Thompson received a Bachelor of Science degree in liberal arts with an elementary education licensure PreK-6, summa cum laude (GPA 3.90-4.00). She is the daughter of Philip and Penny Thompson.

Two Hagerstown students were named to the spring semester 2005 dean's list at Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Va. They are:

Richard C. Bryson, a junior biochemistry major with a minor in business administration. He is the son of Richard and L. Jean Bryson.

Ashley E. Chupp, a sophomore nursing major. She is the daughter Mel and Beth Chupp.

Angela K. Rowe, of Smithsburg, was awarded a Bachelor of Science degree in meteorology during Millersville University of Pennsylvania's spring commencement on May 7.

The United States Achievement Academy announced that Schne Keller of Hagers-town has been named a United States National Award winner in English.

Schne, who attends Western Heights Middle School, was nominated for this award by her teacher, Jodi Young. She will be listed in the United States Achievement Academy official yearbook, which is published nationally.

Schne is the daughter of Brenda and Doug Keller of Hagerstown, and the granddaughter of Gloria Keller and the late Thomas Keller of Hagerstown, Kenneth Warren of Hagerstown, and Rose and Clyde Crow of Michigan.

The Maryland Retailers Association Educational Foundation has awarded a $500 Gerald Jeffein College Scholarship to Ashley Harrington, a graduating senior at South Hagerstown High School. The foundation is a nonprofit organization established by the Maryland Retailers Association (MRA) to support educational endeavors.

Selection is based on academic performance and other criteria such as participation in extracurricular school activities and volunteer civic and community work.

Jessica Elizabeth Fitzwater of Smithsburg recently graduated summa cum laude from St. Mary's College of Maryland with a Bachelor of Arts degree in music.

The Herald-Mail Articles