Health-care spotlight

June 13, 2005

Doctor receives award

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Summit Health recently awarded Mark Swartz of Springside Family Practice with the Diabetes Education and Management Program Collaboration Award. Physicians must meet several criteria to even be nominated for the award.

Dr. Swartz met these criteria by recognizing the importance of patient education as soon as possible after diagnosis, by referring the patients to Summit Health's Diabetes Education program, and using his office visits to teach and encourage improvement in blood sugars. He also encourages patients to reach their blood sugar goals by using meal planning, exercise and medication as needed. He provides the needed follow-up lab tests and referrals to meet the ADA standards of care. He is willing to share his knowledge by serving as a speaker for the diabetes support group in Chambersburg. Also, he communicates well by providing the patient's diabetes educators with information about the patient's last office visit, which includes a list of current diagnosis and medications.


For information on the diabetes and education management program at Chambersburg Hospital, call Beverly Horn at 1-717-217-6825.

Hospital receives medal of honor

BALTIMORE - Washington County Hospital is one of 185 hospitals across the country - and the only Maryland hospital - to receive the first Organ Donation Medal of Honor to hospitals - and their Organ Procurement Organization partners - achieving donation rates of 75 percent or higher in a 12-month period.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration is awarding this Medal of Honor to hospitals that have had a least eight eligible organ donors in a single, continuous 12-month period occurring between September 2003 and March 2005.

In 2004, the Washington County Hospital in Hagers-town had 10 organ donors - saving the lives of 27 people. Further, at WCH, 83 percent of families approached with the option of donation, chose to donate their loved ones organs.

Clinic receives donation

The Eastern Panhandle Free Clinic received a $10,000 donation from the Horsemen's Benevolent & Protective Association to provide medical care and prescription assistance to persons with low or no income and no health or prescription insurance.

"With the patient load growing constantly, the clinic is increasingly reliant on volunteers and businesses to help provide the care needed," said Kay Napolitano, executive director of the Eastern Panhandle Free Clinic. "More than 12,000 hours have been logged by volunteers at the clinic," she said. The clinic serves more than 900 patients a year, with a core medical and administrative staff of six and a volunteer staff of 45. Clinic services are funded through a combination of grants, private donations from individuals, business and community leaders, and state and local governments. The Eastern Panhandle Free Clinic is a member of the United Ways of Jefferson County and Berkeley/Morgan counties.

The clinic serves eligible persons from Jefferson, Berkeley and Morgan counties, offers nursing and medical care, prescription assistance, social work, psychological counseling, alcohol and drug addiction counseling, patient education and referral to specialist services. Services are by appointment only. For information, call 1-304-724-6091.

Jill Keller named nurse of the year

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - Hats Off to Nurses! - Cinco de Mayo Celebration was the them of this year's Nurses Week activities at Waynesboro Hospital. Honored as the 2005 Nurse of the Year was Jill Keller.

The Nurse of the Year award is given in recognition of an outstanding staff nurse who exhibits excellence in nursing skills, contributes significantly as a member of the health care team, utilizes exceptional interpersonal skills and contributes to community affairs. In addition to Keller, other nominees for Nurse of the Year were Crissy Bryan, Sharon Foutz, Kelly Hess, Karen Kornfield, Diana Mowen and Mary Lou Smith.

The Benner Award is presented annually to nurses who exemplify achievement for extraordinary efforts in performance improvement. This year's recipients are Crissy Bryan, Karen Sharrah, Wanda Crilly, Betsy McKelvey, Vickie Stouffer and Stacey Helfrick. Also, Brenda Eby received the Recruitment and Retention award during Nurses Week festivities.

The Herald-Mail Articles