World of Outlaws is coming to Hagerstown Speedway

April 22, 2005

HAGERSTOWN - Ever since the Stanley Schetrompf Memorial was started in 1982 to honor the founder and builder of the Hagerstown Speedway, the top late-model drivers in the country have visited the Washington County oval to compete in the first big race of the season.

This year, the Stanley Schetrompf Memorial will kick off the first of

two visits by the World of Outlaws Late Models Series on Saturday, April 30. The doubleheader program will include the Hoosier Tires late-model sportsman race with gates opening at 5 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. The 50-lap Memorial will pay $10,000 to the winner.

Rick Eckert of York, Pa., will be shooting for his third straight World of Outlaw win at the Hagerstown Speedway. Eckert and his car owner, Raye Vest, consider Hagerstown their home track when they aren't on the road and thrilled their hometown fans with wins in the Schetrompf and Conococheague 50 last year.


"Yeah, I am looking forward to going there. Last year we won both Outlaw races so it would be nice to come back and repeat this year," said Eckert. "But that's a lot harder done than said. The place hadn't been that good to me for years. It paid me back a little last year. Hopefully, it'll pay me back some more this year."

The 2005 edition of the World Of Outlaws Stacker 2 Late Model Series "Dirty Dozen," who have committed to all events, includes defending World Of Outlaws Late Model Series champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., current championship point leader Billy Moyer of

Batesville, Ariz., Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., Eckert, Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa., Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis., Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., 2004 World Of Outlaws "Rookie of the Year" Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, and John Blankenship of Williamson, W.Va.

The local drivers have won their share of big races at Hagerstown and will be ready when the Outlaws roll into town. Drivers such as Nathan Durboraw, Gary Stuhler, Frankie Plessinger, Devin Friese, Paul Crowl, DJ Myers, Tom Myers and more will be on the lookout for the Outlaw drivers.

Previous winners of the prestigious spring memorial include Jeff Robinson, 1982; Sam Nalley, 1983; Larry Moore, 1984; Rodney Franklin, 1985-87-88; Jeff Purvis, 1986; Bob Wearing Jr., 1990; Donnie Moran, 1991-99; Gary Stuhler, 1989-93-94-95-96-97; Freddy Smith, 1992; Steve Francis, 1998; Mike Balzano, 2000; Davey Johnson, 2001; Rick Aukland, 2002, Brian Birkhofer, 2003 and Rick Eckert 2004..

For additional information, contact the Hagerstown Speedway office at 301-582-0640. The Hagerstown Speedway is located on U.S. Route 40, six miles west of Hagerstown.

The Herald-Mail Articles