Council member/recorder resigns in Bath

April 22, 2005|by TRISH RUDDER

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.Va. - Dave Hall, the Town of Bath recorder, resigned Thursday from the Bath Town Council, citing personnel conflicts.

He said he discussed the matter earlier with Mayor Susan Webster before submitting his resignation letter to her at Town Hall.

Hall served on the Bath Town Council since 1982, he said. He became the town recorder about a year ago, replacing John Kiley, who was elected as town recorder in June 2003.


Recently, Hall filed to run in the upcoming election for council member and not for re-election as the town recorder. He said he will not run for council.

"I felt I did my best for this community for 17 years," Hall said.

Hall said if town officials have questions, he would be willing to consult with them.

Webster said, "I will miss him and always admired his volunteerism and his sincere concern for our community."

Webster said the recorder is the town's "keeper of records." The recorder does all the paperwork for the minutes and acts as vice mayor, and one of the most important responsibilities is running the municipal elections, she said.

Webster said a special town council meeting will be held at Town Hall on Saturday at 2 p.m. to accept Hall's resignation.

Since the town is preparing for the June 14 election, one of the town council members will be appointed at Saturday's meeting to fill the recorder position. Webster said most likely one of the council members will volunteer to serve.

The mayor, town recorder and five council member seats are up for re-election. Ten candidates are running for town council, one for town recorder and two for mayor. All are Town of Bath residents.

Christopher Dailey is challenging Webster for the mayor's job.

Garnet Marsh filed for the town recorder position and will run unopposed.

Sandy Hevener, Thomas Glenn Hall, Kenny Easton, Michael J. Dennis, Owen K. Martz and Scott Merki are new candidates for town council.

Current council members David Crosby, Dave Duncan, Nancy Harvey and Dale Lutman are running for re-election. Irene Hedrick, who chairs the Cemetery committee, is not running for re-election.

Webster said the yearly salary for a council member is $300. The town recorder position pays $1,200 and the mayor is paid $500.

June 14 is election day, but early voting is available starting 20 days before. Voting will take place at Town Hall.

The Herald-Mail Articles