YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsMath

Nominees for county's top teacher named

April 18, 2005

Nominations have been announced for Washington County Public Schools Teacher of the Year.

All nominees will be honored at the annual Educators of the Year banquet, sponsored by the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce, on Thursday, April 21 at the Four Points Hotel in Hagerstown.

A committee of school system and Chamber of Commerce representatives is selecting a list of finalists.

The Teacher of the Year will be chosen from that list. The teacher chosen will advance to the statewide Teacher of the Year program in October. The statewide program is sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education.

Nominees are:

· Suzanne Abeles, Fountain Rock Elementary School, physical education

· Linda Barnhart, Paramount Elementary School, music

· Susan Berezuk, Lincolnshire Elementary School, kindergarten

· Sabrina Blair, Boonsboro Middle School, science

· James Feeser, South Hagerstown High School, science


· Gail Felice, South Hagerstown High School, Special Education Department chair

· Melanie Geer, Western Heights Middle School, seventh-grade English/language arts

· Edward Gift, Smithsburg High School, psychology/history

· Robert Kann, Boonsboro Elementary School, Quest enrichment teacher

· Marjorie Kellman, Washington County Technical High School, health occupations

· Becky Kercheval, Potomac Heights Elementary School, first grade

· Lucienne Kolsun, Boonsboro Middle School, Spanish

· Sommer Kretsinger, Smithsburg Middle School, eighth-grade math

· Jennifer LaBombard, Western Heights Middle School, science

· Heidi Maciulla, Boonsboro Middle School, English

· Sharon Martin, Smithsburg Elementary School, third grade

· Jaime Mason, Springfield Middle School, math

· Paula Moore, Williamsport High School, French

· Nicole Potter, Washington County Technical High School, early childhood

· Michelle Rafter, Springfield Middle School, chorus/general music

· Betsy Reed, Boonsboro Elementary School, first grade

· Carolyn Reel, Smithsburg Middle School, sixth-grade math

· Ginger Scally, E. Russell Hicks Middle School, social studies

· Lisa Scumpieru, North Hagerstown High School, English/language arts

· Kevin Seburn, Washington County Technical High School, physics

· Belle Stottlemyer, Clear Spring Elementary School, fourth grade

· Michelle Talbert-Smith, Fountain Rock Elementary School, special education

· Kathy Thornhill, South Hagerstown High School, English

· Eric Tilmans, South Hagerstown High School, math

· Peggy Walsh, Boonsboro Middle School, social studies

· F. Ann Wilson, Pangborn Elementary School, second grade

· Joan Woodward, Boonsboro Elementary School, kindergarten

The Herald-Mail Articles