Herald-Mail wins 24 press association awards

March 12, 2005

HAGERSTOWN - The Herald-Mail won 24 awards and was named the 2004 Newspaper of the Year for its division by the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association on Friday.

The Herald-Mail has been recognized as Newspaper of the Year for four consecutive years and has received the honor nine of the last 12 years.

The newspaper's awards included 13 first-place honors and one Best in Show, given to the best entry in a category among six divisions. The divisions are based on newspaper circulation.

The Herald-Mail is in Division B, for newspapers with daily circulations between 30,000 and 75,000.

Best in Show was presented to Andrew Schotz, Brian Shappell, Bob Maginnis, Tim Rowland, Tara Reilly and Pepper Ballard for stories covering a 911 call to the Smithsburg home of a volunteer firefighter who died in March 2004 and the controversy surrounding the call.


"This is another great job," John League, editor and publisher of The Herald-Mail, said of the newspaper's awards. "Our newspaper does a great job every day and this award is shared by every department at The Herald-Mail."

The awards were presented Friday during the annual MDDC luncheon in Pikesville, Md.

The Herald-Mail, which publishes The Morning Herald, The Daily Mail and The Herald-Mail, submitted news and feature stories, editorials and local columns written in 2004.

Also submitted were photographs, pages and graphics that appeared in the newspapers last year.



First place, Spot News: Greg Simmons and Kevin Gilbert for "Pilot rescued."

First place, Investigative Reporting and Best in Show: Schotz, Shappell, Maginnis, Rowland, Reilly and Ballard for "Chief: They got what they deserved."

First place, Local Government: Schotz for "Taxes, fees climbing."

First place, Public Service: Simmons for "Snow removal coverage."

First place, Education: Schotz, Wanda Williams, Tamela Baker and Julie E. Greene for "Brown v. Board of Education."

First place, Election Coverage: Liz Thompson, Tim Shea and Scott Butki for Voter's Guide - Board of Education."

Second place, Continuing Coverage/Series: Shappell, Thompson, Schotz, Ballard, Williams and Rowland for "Home, home on the porch," the story of a deer found by a local couple.

Second place, Local Government: Simmons for "Watt's the story?"

Second place, State Government: Simmons for "Abuse, neglect were probed in 3-year-old's death."


First place, General News Photo: Ric Dugan for "Soldier laid to rest."

First place, Spot News Photo: Yvette May for "Fire destroys 1892 house."

Second place, General News Photo: Richard T. Meagher for "Bush greets supporters."

Second place, Sports Photo: Joe Crocetta for "Over the Fence."


First place, Sports Story: Bob Parasiliti for "Dream dealt a detour."

Second place, Sports Feature Story: Parasiliti for "Scallion's stallions."

Design and Graphics

First place, Headline: Parasiliti for "Fathers: A pop culture."

First place, Page 1 Design: Ryan Harpster for "Bush leading."

First place, Informational Graphics: Harpster for "Go fish."

First place, Art or Illustration: Dugan for "Firestorm of Flavor."

Second place, Special Sections: Staff for "Hometown Guide."

Second place, Headlines: Bob Fleenor for "Two for tuba."

Second place, Feature/ News Page Design: Amy Dulebohn-Carr for "Meet a stranger."

Second place, Sports Page Design: Mark Keller and Dugan for "Ground control."

The Herald-Mail Articles