Most school board incumbents make deadline

March 09, 2005|by DON AINES

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - There will be at least one new face on the Chambersburg School Board next year and two of the incumbents face challengers in the May 17 primary, according to petitions filed with the Franklin County Election Board by Tuesday's deadline.

Candidates running for school board seats can file to run in both the Democratic and Republican primaries, according to Pennsylvania election law.

Eugene Gayman, the Region 6 director, did not file to run for another four-year. Norman B. Blowers and Kimberly Hartman both filed to run for the seat.


Incumbent Robert L. Helman in Region 1 will face a challenge from former Green Township supervisor Paul B. Ambrose. Thomas Orndorf, the Region 4 incumbent, will face challenger Carl L. Barton, president of the Chambersburg Area Taxpayers Association.

Incumbent Fred E. Rice is unopposed in his run for the Region 3 seat.

· In the Greencastle-Antrim School District, four four-year positions and one two-year position are open on the school board, but the candidates filed to run for both four- and two-year seats.

Patricia Fridgen, Joan E. O'Keefe, Charles McClain, G. William Thorne, Daniel Fisher, Michael Shindle and Teresa Rainey filed petitions to run for the five seats. Shindle was the only one to file on a Republican petition.

· In the Waynesboro Area School District, incumbents Stanley Barkdoll, John R. Fitz, Leland Lemley and Christopher M. Devers all are running for re-election. Devers filed only a Republican petition.

· In the Tuscarora School District, there are six candidates for four seats. The candidates are Jane M. Rice, Donald L. Piper, William J. Pupo, Beckie J. Higgins, Janice M. Hawbaker and Jeffrey L. Spidel. Rice, Hawbaker and Spidel are incumbents. School board member Steve Myers did not file to run for re-election.

The Herald-Mail Articles