Deese crowned late model champ

December 22, 2004


Hagerstown Speedway wrapped up a very successful 2004 season with its annual awards banquet Saturday.

The highlight of the evening was the crowning of Roy Deese Jr. of Laurel, Md., as the 2004 late model track champion for the fourth time. Deese finished the year with three feature wins. In 15 point races, Deese had eight top-five finishes and 13 top-10 finishes.

Richard Walls of St. Thomas, Pa., won his second straight Hoosier Tires/Mid-Atlantic late model division title. He won one feature and finished in the top 10 in 13 of the 16 point races.

Mike Warrenfeltz of Hagerstown had a banner year for car owner Todd Smith with 10 feature wins to capture a pure stocks championship.


Several special awards were presented to the drivers in al three divisions. The late model awards were presented to Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., and Alan Sagi of Hagerstown (Most Improved Drivers); Brent Smith of Mercersburg, Pa. (Hard Luck); Mike Lupfer of Shermans Dale, Pa., (Sportsmanship); Dave Rice Jr. of Greencastle, Pa. (Rookie of the Year) and Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, W.Va. (Best Appearing Car).

In the late model sportsman division, the special awards were presented to Bobby Beard of Hanover, Pa. (Most Improved Driver); Barry Lear Sr. of Severn, Md. (Rookie of the Year); Larry Baer of Dover, Pa. (Hard Luck); Doug Paxson, Bethesda, Md. (Sportsmanship) and Johnny Smith of Severn, Md. (Best Appearing Car).

The pure stock awards went to Bill Reitober of Needmore, Pa. (Most Improved Driver); Kenny Dillon of Hanover, Pa. (Sportsmanship); Hans Stamberg of Barnesville, Md. (Hard Luck) and Brian Tavenner of Winchester, Va. (Best Appearing Car).

The Crew Chief of the Year awards were presented to the championship cars' crew chiefs - Rick Hayslett, late model; Dave Gekwicks, Johnny Reed and Larry Truett, late model sportsman; and Rich Grimm, Jeff Churchey, Brandon Churhey, Bill McCleaf and Jeremy Jamison, pure stocks.

Frank Sagi and Dick Warrenfeltz were inducted into the Hagerstown Speedway Hall of Fame. Known as "The Voice of Hagerstown Speedway," Sagi only missed one race in 40 years of announcing at the half-mile oval. Warrenfeltz was the track champion at Hagerstown Speedway in 1965 and 1967 driving for Richard Bonebrake.

Hagerstown Speedway will begin the 2005 season on Feb. 27 with a doubleheader program, featuring the late models and modifieds. For more information, visit the speedway's Web site at

The Herald-Mail Articles