Washington County briefs

December 15, 2004

Pa. company gets airport contract

A McConnellsburg, Pa., company on Tuesday was awarded a $1.1 million contract to complete terminal apron upgrades at Hagerstown Regional Airport.

The Washington County Commissioners awarded the contract to P & W Excavating Inc.

Most of the project's costs will be paid for through a federal grant.

Flooks recognized as Century Farm owners

A Keedysville family has won the state Century Farm Program award, which recognizes families that have owned farms for 100 or more consecutive years.

The Flook family was recognized at the Washington County Commissioners meeting Tuesday for its accomplishment.

Austin and Joanne Flook and their son, Dwayne, are third- and fourth-generation owners of Felfoot Farm, according to information provided by the county.

The farm was acquired by Austin Flook's grandfather in 1898 and was recorded by a deed in 1904, according to the information.


The farm is along Dog Street Road and Little Antietam Creek.

Stinars honored with preservation award

A Sharpsburg area family received the 2004 Historic Preservation Award on Tuesday at a Washington County Commissioners meeting.

Brent and Julie Stinar were honored for their work to restore the Noah Rohrbach house on Burnside Bridge Road.

The house, which dates back to the 1700s, is made of logs covered with clapboard, according to a written statement. The 132-acre farm overlooks Burnside Bridge outside of Sharpsburg.

The Historic Advisory Committee recommended that the Stinars receive the award.

Two appointed to Public Golf board

Two people were appointed Tuesday by the Washington County Commissioners to the board of directors of the Public Golf Corp.

Chuck Pessagno and Ron Van Reenan were appointed to the board.

In addition, the County Commissioners appointed Jason Baer and Wayne Williams to the Emergency Services Advisory Council for three-year terms.

The commissioners also appointed and reappointed several people to the Recreation and Parks Board.

Albert Deal, Edward Masood and William Sterner were reappointed to three-year terms. Dave Barr and Angela Kershner were appointed to two-year terms.

- Tara Reilly

The Herald-Mail Articles