Sharpsburg voters give incumbents the nod

November 17, 2004



Two incumbent councilmen kept their posts, as did the mayor, who ran unopposed in Tuesday's Sharpsburg Town Council election.

Sharpsburg Town Clerk Anna Jamison said 59 people, about 14 percent of those eligible to cast ballots, voted in Tuesday's town election.

Jeffery Saylor, 48, of 317 W. Main St., retained a council position with 42 votes, and Joseph "J.W." Eichelberger, 38, of 114 E. Chapline St., retained a seat with 35 votes, Jamison said.


Mayor Hal Spielman, 55, of 114 E. Main St., retained his position as mayor with 52 votes, Jamison said. Spielman ran unopposed.

Jamison said there was one write-in vote, for Brad Toole.

"Maybe people like what we're doing if no one ran against me," Spielman said.

Saylor placed first among the three council candidates, which also included Janet Kaetzel, 49, of 318 W. Main St.

"I was very pleased with that," Saylor said of being the top vote-getter. "I enjoy helping the people of the town."

Kaetzel, who received 26 votes in her first bid for a council position, said she enjoyed the experience of running and plans to run again in the next council election.

"It was a challenge, something new. There's always another year," she said.

Eichelberger could not be reached for comment by telephone Tuesday evening.

Saylor, Kaetzel and Spielman all said they were disappointed in voter turnout for the election.

"I thought with the way the national election went, more people would come out for our town election," Saylor said. "Probably, if there was a race for the mayorship in town, more people would have come out."

The Herald-Mail Articles