Choices are many for W.Va. voters

November 01, 2004|by DAVE McMILLION

EASTERN PANHANDLE, W.VA. - Many eyes may be on the country's presidential race, but for months, dozens of candidates have been heading up campaigns for local, state and federal offices ranging from county magistrate to the U.S. Senate.

Like the presidential race, it likely will come to a close when voters head to the polls Tuesday for the general election.

Polls in the Eastern Panhandle open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.

Following is a rundown of local, state and federal races in which local voters will be able to make choices:

· Voters will choose between Democrat Joe Manchin and Republican Monty Warner for governor, between Democrat Ken Hechler and Republican Betty Ireland for Secretary of State, between Democrat Darrell McGraw and Republican Hiram Lewis for state Attorney General and between Warren McGraw and Brent Benjamin for state Supreme Court of Appeals.


· Voters in Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties will choose between U.S. Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., and Democrat Erik Wells in the race for the 2nd Congressional District seat.

· Voters in Jefferson County and most of Berkeley County will choose between Democrat Greg Lance and Republican John Yoder in the race for the 16th District state Senate seat.

Berkeley County

· Berkeley County Sheriff Randy Smith, a Democrat, will face Republican Carlton "Cootsie" DeHaven in the sheriff's race.

· Nine candidates will compete for five magistrate seats in a nonpartisan election. The incumbents - Joan Bragg, Sandy Miller, Kristy Greer, Scott Paugh and Harry Snow - join candidates Tom Grove, Ywatta "Nessy" Mitchell, Robert Lowe II and JoAnn Overington in the race.

· Republican Preston B. Gooden will face Democrat Larry Alvin Hess for Berkeley County assessor.

· Berkeley County Prosecuting Attorney Pamela Games-Neely, a Republican, will face Democrat Larry Crofford for the prosecutor's position.

· Del. Craig Blair, R-Berkeley, will try to protect his 52nd District seat from challenger Scott Funk, a Democrat.

· Republican Vic Roberts and Democrat Jerry Lynn Burton will face off for the 53rd District House of Delegates seat.

· Del. Bob Tabb, D-Jefferson, will face Republican Jim Whitacre for the 56th District House of Delegates seat.

Jefferson County

· Jefferson County Commissioner Al Hooper, a Republican, will try to protect his Charles Town seat in a challenge from Dale Manuel, a Democrat.

· Democrat Jim Surkamp and Republican Gary Phalen will face off for the Shepherdstown seat on the Jefferson County Commission.

· Democrat Scott Coyle will run against Republican Jennifer Maghan for the Jefferson County Clerk position.

· Del. John Doyle, D-Jefferson, will run against Republican Robert Murto in the 57th District House of Delegates race.

· Democrat Locke Wysong and Republican Suzanne Morgan will face each other in the race for the 58th District House of Delegates seat.

· Jefferson County Assessor M.R. "Ginger" Bordier, a Democrat, will face Republican Jaimie C. Somers.

The Herald-Mail Articles