Morgan Co. voters going to the polls early

October 26, 2004|by TRISH RUDDER/Staff Writer

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.Va. - More than 900 people in Morgan County have taken advantage of the state's early voting program and had cast their ballots as of Monday afternoon, according to Morgan County Deputy Clerk Kim Hedrick.

Voters can cast their votes before the Nov. 2 general election at the Morgan County Courthouse on Fairfax Street in Berkeley Springs on the following days:

· Today and Thursday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

· Wednesday: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

· Friday: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

· Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Saturday is the last day for early voting.

Deputy Clerk Heather Tyler said this is the first presidential election that "no excuse" early voting was available.

The county has seen a 33 percent increase in the number of registered voters, Hedrick said. About 7,800 Morgan County residents were registered to vote in the last presidential election and about 10,400 are registered for this election, she said.


On Election Day, the county's regular polling places will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., said Morgan County Clerk Debra Ditto.

In addition to the presidential race, Morgan County voters will have their say on numerous statewide races, including governor, secretary of state, auditor and attorney general. Voters also will weigh in on the U.S. House 2nd Congressional District race between Republican incumbent Shelley Moore Capito and Democratic challenger Eric Wells.

On the state level, Republican Clark S. Barnes will face off against Democrat Mike Ross and incumbent Republican Craig Blair will face off against Democrat Scott Funk for the 52nd District delegate seat.

Republican Charles S. Trump IV is running unopposed for the 51st District delegate seat.

On the county side, incumbent Morgan County Commission member Tommy Swain, a Republican, is being challenged for his seat by Democrat Linda Barker and Independent Party candidate Tina Stone.

Other races include:

· Incumbent Circuit Clerk Kimberly J. Jackson, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat Linda Barker and Independent Party candidate Tina Stone.

n Incumbent Prosecuting Attorney Debra M.H. McLaughlin, a Republican, is facing a challenge from Democrat Stephanie Stark Poling.

n Incumbent Assessor John Allen Swain, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican R. John Miller.

n Three people are running for two open Morgan County magistrate positions: Incumbent Greg Miller, Kermit Matthew Ambrose and Debra Ditto, the sole Democrat of the trio.

The Herald-Mail Articles