Forums set for school board race

September 28, 2004|by SCOTT BUTKI

Three public forums are planned for candidates running in the Washington County Board of Education race, which will be on the Nov. 2 general election ballot.

Eight candidates, including three incumbents, are running for four seats.

School Board President Edward Forrest, 41, said Monday he was disappointed more forums are not scheduled.

"There is very limited opportunity for people in the community to hear the views of the candidates," Forrest said.

He encouraged voters to come to the forums so they can hear candidates' opinions directly.

The forums are scheduled for:

· Oct. 13 at 7 p.m. in the Boonsboro High School cafeteria. The forum is sponsored by the Boonsboro High School Citizens Advisory Committee.


· Oct. 15 at 7 p.m. at Hagerstown Community College's satellite campus in Valley Mall. Spring Ward, a Hagerstown Community College teacher, said she and students in her state and local government class are organizing the event.

· Oct. 21 at 6:30 p.m. at the United Auto Workers meeting hall at 18131 Maugans Ave., Hagerstown. The forum is sponsored by the Washington County Teachers Association, the Washington County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations and the Western Maryland AFL-CIO Labor Council.

Forrest, school board Vice President Roxanne Ober, 44, and board member Bernadette Wagner, 47, are seeking re-election.

They are being challenged by five candidates: Wayne Ridenour, 53, of Williamsport; William Staley, 59, of Hagerstown; former board member Thomas Berry, 72, of Rohrersville; Teresa Spruill, 46, of Smithsburg; and Barry C. Harbaugh, 45.

Board members Paul Bailey, Jacqueline Fischer and Russell Williams are not on the ballot again until 2006.

There were 14 candidates in the March 2 primary election, with the eight receiving the most votes moving on to the general election.

Among those not making the past the primary election was Princeton Young, of Hagerstown. Gov. Robert Ehrlich appointed Young to the school board in May 2003 to fill the seat vacated by Doris Nipps, who was elected a Washington County Commissioner in November 2002.

The Herald-Mail Articles