Washington County briefs

September 15, 2004|by TARA REILLY

Commissioners' vote on excise tax delayed

Municipalities in Washington County won't be reimbursed for collecting the county's excise tax just yet.

The Washington County Commissioners on Tuesday delayed a vote on the issue after disagreeing on how much municipalities should be reimbursed.

The excise tax is charged per square foot for new construction in the county.

County Attorney Richard Douglas proposed that the commissioners amend the county's excise tax ordinance so that municipalities be permitted to withhold up to a 2 percent administrative fee from the excise tax revenue the municipalities collect.

Commissioner James F. Kercheval questioned whether that percentage should apply to the City of Hagerstown, since the city collects more of the tax than the other municipalities.


He said it's possible the city should receive more than a 2 percent reimbursement.

"I see nothing in (the proposal) that explains to me 2 percent is the right number," Kercheval said.

Commissioner John C. Munson said municipalities should be permitted to withhold 1 1/2 percent to 2 percent and nothing more.

"Everybody gets the same," Munson said.

Commissioners President Gregory I. Snook said he wanted more information on how much it costs municipalities to collect the excise tax before the commissioners vote on a percentage.

Contract awarded for work at airport

A Hagerstown company received a nearly $900,000 contract Tuesday to renovate and expand Hagerstown Regional Airport's terminal building.

The Washington County Commissioners voted to award the contract to Excel Contractors Inc. for $891,870.

The 120-day project includes a 1,500-square-foot addition to the passenger holding room, new restrooms in the holding room, renovation of existing restrooms, conversion of former restaurant space to office space and a covered passenger walkway.

Eight are appointed to board positions

Eight people were appointed Tuesday to the Local Management Board, also known as the Washington County Community Partnership for Children and Families board.

The Washington County Commissioners appointed William Mason, Paul Pittman, Melicent Malchenson, Vivian Miller, Milissa Sibley, Donna Rudy, Sherry Talbert and James Wilhide to the board.

The Herald-Mail Articles