Washington County briefs

August 11, 2004|by TARA REILLY

13 employees complete courses

Thirteen Washington County employees completed a series of management courses offered by the Washington County Training Office and Hagerstown Community College.

The program, Going for the Gold, offers employee development courses in government management and support. It is designed to improve skills, knowledge and abilities, according to county information.

The employees who completed the program receive certification in Government Supervisory Management or Office Support Management.

Employees had to take a minimum of 24 course hours in a core curriculum and elective courses.

Over the last several years, many employees promoted to higher positions have been graduates of the program, according to the county.

Receiving the Government Supervisory Management Certificates were Kenny Carrier, John Mellott, Earle Pereschuk and Kenny Rickett of the Buildings Grounds and Parks Department; Jennifer Swisher of the Emergency Services Department; Phil Ridenour of Hagerstown Regional Airport; Bill Dean of the Department of Water Quality; Kevin Knight, Ricky Martz, Dave Ebersole and Homer Spradlin of the Highway Department; and Vicky McKenzie of the Engineering Department.


Linda Spence, of the Hagerstown-Washington County Economic Development Commission, received an Office Support Management Certificate.

County to get $6,000 for weed control

Washington County will receive $6,000 from the Maryland Department of Agriculture to kill and control "noxious" weeds.

The Washington County Commissioners on Tuesday approved the annual grant agreement with the state Department of Agriculture.

The grant covers Johnson grass, shattercane, thistles and multiflora rose.

Six take seats on women's commission

Six people were appointed or reappointed to the Washington County Commission for Women on Tuesday.

The County Commissioners reappointed Claire Mumma and Ida Taylor to three-year terms. Maria Figueroa was reappointed to a two-year term, and Vikki Nelson and Kate Thompson were reappointed to one-year terms.

Vijay Kumar-Solanski was appointed to a three-year term.

Fahrney chosen for Housing Authority

Margaret "Jimmie" Fahrney was appointed to a five-year term on the Housing Authority of Washington County.

Fahrney, appointed to the term Tuesday by the Washington County Commissioners, will serve as the resident commission member.

The Herald-Mail Articles