Maryland Symphony Orchestra to offer patriotic program of music

July 01, 2004

Songs to be performed Saturday by the Maryland Symphony Orchestra include:

  • "The Star-Spangled Banner"

  • "Maryland My Maryland"

  • "Armed Forces Salute"

  • Aaron Copland's "Old American Songs," a medley of "The Boatman's Dance," "The Dodger," "Long Time Ago," "Simple Gifts" and "I Bought Me a Cat"

  • Johann Sebastian Bach's Air from Overture No. 3 in D

  • "Sing Out America"

  • Copland's "Fanfare for the Common Man"

  • Robert Lichtenberger's "Paul Bunyan"

  • John Philip Sousa's "Liberty Bell"

  • Max Bruch's final movement, Violin Concerto No. 1

  • Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture

  • Sousa's "Stars & Stripes"

The Herald-Mail Articles