Student News

June 14, 2004

Katherine L. Gruber of Clear Spring, Md., graduated from York College of Pennsylvania on May 15. She received a B.S. degree in nursing.

The daughter of Gary E. Gruber and Donna M. Gruber, she is a graduate of Clear Spring High School.

Gruber graduated with Cum Laude honors, was president of the May 2004 Nursing Class, and received a Nursing Departmental Award.

Frostburg State University's chapter of the Phi Eta Sigma National Freshman Honor Society inducted four members from Washington County on April 18.

To become a member, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or better during freshman year. The chapter inducted 83 students.

Stefanie Barr, daughter of Kenneth and Trina Barr of Hagerstown, is an English and secondary education major and a graduate of Williamsport High School.


Weston Murphy, son of Cindy Murphy and James Williams of Keedysville, is a mechanical engineering major and a graduate of Boonsboro High School.

Jennifer Rotruck, daughter of Neil and Kim Rotruck of Sharpsburg, is a biology major and a graduate of Boonsboro High School.

Randy Stout, son of Douglas and Priscilla Stout of Hagers-town, is a chemistry major and a graduate of North Hagerstown High School.

Matthew Ancarrow of Smithsburg recently received a Talent in the Arts award for study at Frostburg State University.

Matthew is a 2004 graduate of Smithsburg High School. He plans to major in theatre at FSU. Ancarrow has performed in school plays for the past three years and is a "Shining S.T.A.R." for drama.

He is the son of Crystal and Gregory Ancarrow.

The Right Rev. Robert Ihloff, Bishop of Maryland, confirmed five students in the Saint James School Chapel. The following students were confirmed: Gideon Dodge (4th form) of Cambridge, Md.; Laurel Mylonas-Orwig (6th form) of Springfield, Ohio; Winston Folk (5th form) of Memphis, Tenn.; Alex Yaraghi (4th form) of Hagerstown and James Knable (3rd form) of Hagerstown.

In addition, Eric Brooks (5th form) of Sharpsburg was baptized and Lauren Blount (5th form) of Keedysville, reaffirmed her baptismal vows. Forms 2 through 6 equal eighth through 12th grades, respectively.

The confirmands participated in confirmation classes led by School Chaplain the Rev. W. Patrick Gahan and Mark Michael, chapel verger and history teacher.

The following area students were named to the Dean's List at Liberty University, Lynchburg, Va., for the Spring 2004 semester:

Hannah Rhea Wilson of Clear Spring, Elizabeth Marie Lefebure of Hagerstown and Jamie Clare Ciccarelli of Williamsport.

Keith M. Gerver of Martinsburg, W.Va., received the J. Raymond Trainor Award at Georgetown University's commencement activities in Washington, D.C.

The award is given to the senior whose academic attainment in the field of international politics has been judged outstanding by the faculty.

Gerver graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor's degree in international politics from the School of Foreign Service. He attended Martinsburg High School.

Angela Crawford has been selected from a pool of applicants from across the nation to participate this summer in a Research Experience for Undergraduates at the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga.

This nine-week program is funded by the National Science Foundation and focuses on prokaryotic biology and genetic research. She will receive a scholarship for her participation and housing on the UGA campus.

Crawford is a junior at Clemson University, in Clemson, S.C., where she majors in microbiology and aspires to be a geneticist. She has also been named to the dean's list in the spring semester. She is a 2002 graduate of Boonsboro High School.

Shepherd University recreation and tourism major Gayle T. Merando has been selected as the American Travel Center intern for the summer of 2004. Merando, a senior, began her 180-hour internship June 1.

According to Bob O'Connor, company CEO, Merando was chosen for her interest in the travel industry and for her major in Commercial Recreation and Tourism.

Merando has more than six years experience in retail sales and three years experience in management at various jobs throughout her school years. She is a resident of Walkersville, Md., and a 2000 graduate of Walkersville High School. She will graduate from Shepherd in 2005.

Four Saint James School students and one teacher were inducted into the Saint James School Chapter of the Cum Laude Society, recognizing academic excellence, justice and honor.

Assistant Head of School Sandra Pollock, as president of the school chapter, inducted the following students: Sixth-formers (12th-graders): Yusuke Haffeman-Udagawa of Frederick, Md., Francis Matthew Jones of Narberth, Pa.; Laurel Katerina Mylonas-Orwig of Springfield, Ohio and fifth-former (11th-grader) Lauren Michelle Bust of Hagerstown. Mark Michael, history master, was also inducted.

The Herald-Mail Articles