Student news

June 08, 2004

John Waitkus, a 2004 graduate of Martinsburg (W.Va.) High School, has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship by Parsons Ford and the Ford Motor Company.

John, the son of Nancy and Steve Waitkus, plans to study swine production at Southeast Community College in Nebraska.

The scholarship is one of 626 awarded by Ford Division, Ford Motor Company Fund and Ford dealers to FFA members who are high school seniors and plan to attend college this fall. The Built Ford Tough Trucks/FFA Scholarship Program recently completed its seventh full year.

Justin Smith of Waynesboro, Pa., and Kathleen Vanderau of Scotland, Pa., students at Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School in Kingston, Pa., have been named to the Dean's List High Honors for the second 2003-04 academic term.

Smith, a freshman, is the son of Cynthia Kauffman of Waynesboro. Vanderau, a sophomore, is the daughter of Kathleen Vanderau of Scotland and Douglas Vanderau of Hagerstown.


Erin Mumper of Doylesburg, Pa., and Amber Oberholzer of Greencastle, Pa. have been named to the Dean's List at Wyoming Seminary. Mumper, a sophomore, is the daughter of Cherie Mumper of Doylesburg. Oberholzer, a senior, is the daughter of Nelson and Lucinda Oberholzer.

Lisa A. Younkins of Hagers-town graduated from Hood College, Frederick, Md., May 22 with a Master of Arts degree in humanities with a concentration in English.

Younkins, a 1996 graduate of North Hagerstown High School, earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Pittsburgh in 2000. She is a French and English teacher at St. Maria Goretti High School and plans to pursue Ph.D. in English.

The Washington County Arts Council organized a scholarship award available to a county resident high school senior continuing his or her education at a college, university, or technical school and who plans to pursue a career in the arts. The winner of this year's $1,000 scholarship is Megan Schimmel of Hagerstown.

Megan was selected from an outstanding group of talented students. There were several very deserving applicants; however, Schimmel's application rated the highest score from the judging panel. Based primarily on the artistic merit of the submitted materials (CDs, portfolios, tapes, etc.), the judges also looked at such qualities as grade point average, teacher recommendations and extracurricular activities.

Megan will graduate this spring from North Hagerstown High School and plans to major in ballet at either the University of Utah or Mercyhurst College.

She was nominated by Lauran Clowser, director of the City Ballet in Hagerstown, where she has been a soloist and taken classes for the past eight years. Megan has been accepted in to summer programs with the Virginia School for the Arts, Brooklyn Ballet Theatre, the Edinburgh Scotland Connection and the Joffrey Ballet in New York City, to name a few.

The Steven Sokol Memorial Award was presented at the Baltimore College of Dentistry. University of Maryland at Baltimore on May 20, by Sokol's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Sokol Sr. of Hagerstown.

The award consists of a plaque and is given to the Senior dental student who has most exemplified the spirit of perseverance and fortitude in the face of overwhelming obstacles during his/her dental education. The recipient's name is also inscribed on the Steven Sokol Memorial plaque displayed in the dental school lounge. This year's recipient is Nathanial Jon Bent.

Steven Sokol was a 1974 graduate of St. Maria Goretti High School and a 1978 graduate of Mount St. Mary's College in Emmitsburg, Md. and would have graduated from the University of Maryland Dental School in 1982. The award, established by his classmates in 1982, honors the memory of Steven Sokol, who died June 30, 1982, after a long and difficult illness.

At the commencement ceremony May 17 at Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, N.C., Matthew E. Meany was awarded the degree of Bachelor of Arts, cum laude, in psychology.

Meany is the son of Mark and Evelyn Meany of Hagerstown.

The Potomac Valley Home School Co-op is pleased to announce its fourth annual commencement exercises, held at Grace Brethren Community Church in Frederick, Md., May 15.

Members of the class of 2004 are Laura Kay Bourquist of Leesburg, Va.; Torrey Carolina Caldwell of Brunswick, Md.; Rebekah Anne Maxey of Keedysville; Amy Suzanne Pontius of Keedysville; Laura Elisabeth Poole of Middletown, Md.; and Nicole Marie Reiter of Leesburg.

Anne Welty emceed the event. Chelsea Phillips, a 2003 home school graduate, provided special music. Joyce Guthrie gave the commencement speech.

The Kiwanis Club of Hagerstown annually awards scholarships to deserving high school seniors who are planning to continue their education.

The program, hosted by Dr. Atlee Kepler, awarded $500 Key Club Scholarships to:

The Herald-Mail Articles