Moyseenko, Weaver net Kelly title

May 29, 2004|By TIM KOELBLE

Darren Weaver and Alex Moyseenko have reached the winner's circle before in The Herald-Mail Dick Kelly Memorial Golf Tournament.

Little did they know they became the first twosome to repeat as team winners in the net division when their better-ball-of-partners 58 was good enough to win the 11th annual Kelly at Black Rock Golf Course on Friday.

"That's exciting to know," said Hagerstown's Moyseenko. "There were some good teams playing today."

Weaver and Moyseenko are both sports officials and first met on the basketball court. They have taken their friendship beyond officiating to the golf course and on family vacations. They were teaming together for the eighth time in the Kelly.

"He's so tempermental," Weaver said of Moyseenko.

"He's so calm," Moyseenko said of Weaver.

Together they used their effects on one another to conquer the field that covered the 6,236 yard, par-72 Black Rock layout, besting the teams of Dennis and Chip Van Reenan and Gary Wright and Jeff Yingling by one stroke.


"We started slowly on the front and it seems we always end up doing well when that happens," Moyseenko said.

They finished the front nine with three straight birdies, carried it over to the first three holes on the back nine and survived a treacherous trek on the par-4, 402-yard 13th that possibly saved the victory.

Moyseenko hit his drive into deep rough and Weaver found an extremely difficult second shot under trees.

"Darren hit a 5-iron and we really didn't see where it went and some people watching said it was on the green," Moyseenko said. "That was a great shot. We saved par and by that time after going through 11, 12 and 13 I think we felt we had made up five shots on the field."

Kirk Lombardi and Ken Winfield teamed to win the gross division with a 64, one shot better than the teams of Josh Spreng-Chris Baloga and Steve Caron-Ashley Grier.

Ed Godsey and Terry Morgan won the seniors division on a tiebreaker with a 64 and the same total was good for Dan Matonak and Dirk Devault to win the sponsors division.

Proceeds from the tournament go directly to the Dick Kelly Memorial Foundation, established to help in the advancement of junior golf and its scholarship program.

The Herald-Mail Articles