Voters take to polls

School board field whittled to eight

School board field whittled to eight

March 03, 2004|by SCOTT BUTKI

Three incumbents and five challengers were the high votegetters in the Washington County Board of Education race in Tuesday's primary election.

The eight will vie in the Nov. 2 general election for four seats on the school board.

A fourth incumbent, Princeton Young, 56, of Hagerstown, did not make it past the primary, based on unofficial results announced Tuesday night.

There were 14 people running for four school board seats.

In May 2003, Gov. Robert Ehrlich appointed Young to the school board to fill the seat vacated by Doris J. Nipps, who was elected a Washington County Commissioner in November 2002.


Young is the first black person to serve on the school board.

With all 46 precincts reporting, the high votegetter was incumbent Bernadette M. Wagner, with an unofficial 5,434 votes.

Wayne Ridenour came in second with 5,279 votes, according to unofficial results.

It appears the following candidates will move on to the primary, based on Tuesday's balloting:

  • Wagner, 46, of Hagerstown.

  • Incumbent Roxanne Ober, 44, of Hagerstown.

  • Incumbent Edward Forrest, 40, of Hagerstown.

  • Former board member Thomas Berry, 71, of Rohrersville.

  • Ridenour, 52, of Williamsport.

  • William Staley, 59, of Hagerstown.

  • Barry Harbaugh, 44, of Clear Spring.

  • Teresa Spruill, 45, of Smithsburg.

According to unofficial results, the following candidates did not receive enough votes to be on the general election ballot:

  • Richard Grassby, 68, of Hagerstown.

  • Tom Janus, 61, of Hagerstown.

  • George William "Bill" Sonnik III, 57, of Williamsport.

  • The Rev. Blaine E. Feightner, 57, of Keedysville.

  • Gary Nally, 46, of Williamsport.

  • Princeton Young, 56, of Hagerstown

The names of Connie Jantz, 39, of Knoxville, and Elizabeth Lay, 45, of Clear Spring, were on the ballot but both previously dropped out of the race. Both still received votes.

There were 572 absentee ballots received by Tuesday night. More will be accepted today if they were postmarked by Monday, said Charles L. Mobley Jr., president of the Washington County Board of Elections.

The Board of Elections will count the absentee ballots Thursday morning.

The Herald-Mail Articles