YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsWva

Candidates beat deadline to file in W.Va.

February 02, 2004|by DAVE McMILLION

At least six new names were added to the list of candidates for this year's elections in Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia as the deadline for filing election papers passed on Saturday.

Circuit clerk offices in Berkeley and Jefferson counties were open until 5 p.m. Saturday to allow candidates to file their papers.

It is possible other candidates can be added to the list if they mailed their paperwork, county officials said.

Any papers that were mailed must be postmarked by Saturday to be accepted, election officials said.

In Jefferson County, Del. John Doyle, D-Jefferson, filed papers Saturday in his attempt to win re-election this year.

If there are no other Democratic candidates, Doyle's first challenge will be meeting Democrat Rod Snyder in the May 11 primary election.


Snyder, of 221 Elm St., Shenandaoh Junction, W.Va., is the son of Sen. Herb Snyder, D-Jefferson, who also is running for re-election.

So far, the only Republican running for the 57th House of Delegates seat held by Doyle is Robert Murto, of 887 Cherry Run Road, Harpers Ferry, W.Va.

If Murto is the only Republican, he automatically will advance to the general election in November.

In Berkeley County, Robert Lee Lowe II, a Republican, added his name to the list of candidates running for Berkeley County magistrate on Saturday.

Five magistrate positions are open in Berkeley County and all of the current magistrates - Joan Bragg, Sandra Miller, Kristy Greer, Harry Snow and Scott Paugh - are seeking re-election.

Also running for magistrate are Republican JoAnn B. Overington, Republican Mary Christine Teufel, Republican Thomas Wesley Grove and Democrat Ywatta "Nessy" Mitchell.

Also on Saturday, Republicans Lyndsey Ward Leatherman and David Michael Myers filed to run for Berkeley County surveyor.

Other races include:

Berkeley County


Candidates are Sheriff W. Randy Smith, a Democrat, and Republican Carlton "Cootsie" DeHaven.

Board of Education

The candidates are Stephen Michael Walker of Falling Waters, W.Va., Paul Gavin and incumbents Bill Norris and Bill Queen. The nonpartisan race will be held in the May primary.

County Commission

Running for an open seat on the commission are Republicans Curtis E. Keller of Montmorency Drive in Bunker Hill, W.Va., and Ronald K. Collins, of Braddock Boulevard, Inwood, W.Va.


Preston B. Gooden, a Republican, of Nestle Quarry Road in Falling Waters; Larry Alvin Hess, a Democrat, of Featherbed Road in Martinsburg, W.Va.; and Brad Cameron Unger, a Democrat, of Chantilly Lane in Inwood, are the candidates.


The only candidate is incumbent John Small.

Circuit Clerk

The only candidate is incumbent Virginia Sine.


The candidates are Republican incumbent Pamela Games-Neely and Democrats Thomas Stanley and Larry Crofford.

Jefferson County


Incumbent Everett "Ed" Boober is running unopposed.

Board of Education

Five people are running for seats on the board of education, a nonpartisan race that will be decided in the primary election. The candidates are incumbent Doris Cline of Charles Town, W.Va.; George Ganak, 128 Runnymede Drive, Charles Town; Howard Stafford Leigh Koonce, 82 Koonce Road, Halltown, W.Va.; Jud Romine, 103 Oakridge Court, Charles Town; and Alan Sturm, 457 Berridge Drive, Shepherdstown, W.Va.

County Commission

Republican Al Hooper and Democrat Dale Manuel are running for the Charles Town seat. Running for the Shepherdstown, seat are Republican Gary Phalen, of 228 Fernbank Drive, Shepherdstown, Democrat Jim Surkamp of Shepherdstown and Democrat Tom Trumble of 2576 Warm Springs Road, Shenandoah Junction.

County Clerk

Candidates are Democrat Scott Coyle of Charles Town, Democrat Gary Kable of Charles Town, Democrat Stafford H. Koonce of Halltown, Democrat Jeral A. Milton of Charles Town and Republican Jennifer Maghan of Shepherdstown. Maghan filed on Saturday.

Jefferson County Circuit Clerk

Incumbent Patsy Noland is running unopposed.

Jefferson County Assessor

Candidates are incumbent Democrat M.R. "Ginger" Bordier and Republican Jaimie Somers of 38 Torrey Pines Court, Charles Town. Bordier filed on Saturday.

Jefferson County Magistrate

All three current magistrates - Gail Boober, Bill Senseney and Mary Paul Rissler - are running unopposed.

Jefferson County Surveyor

Republican Gary A. Frey of Harpers Ferry.

Jefferson County Prosecutor

Incumbent Michael D. Thompson is running unopposed.

State Senate 16th District

Candidates are incumbent Democrat Herb Snyder, Democrat Greg Lance of Shenandoah Junction, Republican Earl Wilbourne of Charles Town and Republican John Yoder of Harpers Ferry.

House of Delegates 52nd District

Incumbent Republican Craig Blair and Democrat Scott Funk are the candidates.

53rd District

Candidates are Republican Dewey L. Largent Jr., Republican Vic A. Roberts Jr. of Gerrardstown and Democrat Jerry Lynn Burton of Inwood.

54th District

Incumbent Walter Duke, a Republican, is running unopposed.

55th District

Del. John Overington, Republican, is running unopposed.

56th District

Candidates are incumbent Democrat Bob Tabb and Republican Jim Whitacre of Martinsburg.

58th District

Candidates are Democrat Charles Locke Wysong Jr. of Charles Town, Republican Suzanne Morgan of Charles Town, Republican Fred Blackmer of Harpers Ferry and Democrat S. Marshall Harris of Harpers Ferry.

The Herald-Mail Articles