Candidates file for W.Va. primary

January 18, 2004|by CANDICE BOSELY

Less than a week after the official filing period began for candidates, numerous incumbents and challengers have already filed to run for office.

As of Friday afternoon, 19 people had filed to run for various offices in Jefferson County while, in Berkeley County, 17 people had filed.

Office-seekers who want their name to appear on the May 11 primary election ballot must file by Jan. 31.

Berkeley County

In Berkeley County, those who had filed as of Friday were:


For sheriff, incumbent W. Randy Smith, a Democrat, of Sweetbriar Road in Martinsburg. Carlton "Cootsie" DeHaven, a Republican, of Railroad Drive in Martinsburg, is challenging Smith.


Board of Education

For Board of Education, Stephen Michael Walker, of Forevergreen Drive in Falling Waters, is trying to gain a seat on the board. Neither of the board members up for re-election, Bill Queen and Bill Norris, had yet to file re-election paperwork.

Board of Education candidates are elected without regard to party affiliation.


Four of the five current magistrates filed re-election paperwork: Joan Bragg, of Jasmine Lane in Martinsburg, a Democrat; Sandy Miller, of Butlers Chapel Road in Martinsburg, a Democrat; Scott E. Paugh, of Kilmer Court in Martinsburg, a Democrat; and Harry Lee Snow, of Back Creek Valley Road in Hedgesville, a Republican.

Thomas Wesley Grove, of Thompson Street in Martinsburg, a Republican, filed to run for a magistrate's seat.

County commission

Two people have filed for an open seat on the County Commission: Republican Curtis E. Keller, of Montmorency Drive in Bunker Hill; and Ronald K. Collins, also a Republican, of Braddock Boulevard in Inwood.


Although the current assessor had not filed for re-election, three others are hoping to gain the seat: Preston B. Gooden, a Republican, of Nestle Quarry Road in Falling Waters; Larry Alvin Hess, a Democrat, of Featherbed Road in Martinsburg; and Brad Cameron Unger, a Democrat, of Chantilly Lane in Inwood.

County clerk

Only John Small, the current county clerk, has filed to run for that position. Small, of New York Avenue in Martinsburg, is a Republican.

Circuit clerk

The only person to file so far for the Circuit Clerk's seat is also the incumbent, Democrat Virginia M. Sine, of East Stephen Street in Martinsburg.


For statewide offices, several incumbents and newcomers have filed.

State senate

State Sen. Herb Snyder, a Democrat, of Shenandoah Junction, is seeking re-election.

House of Delegates

Delegates seeking re-election are: Charles S. Trump IV, a Republican, of South Washington Street in Berkeley Springs, for the 51st District House of Delegates seat; Craig Blair, a Republican, of Wasser Drive in Martinsburg, for the 52nd District House of Delegates seat; and Bob Tabb, a Democrat, of Parke Lane in Kearneysville, for the 56th District House of Delegates seat.

Challenging Tabb is Jim Whitacre, a Republican, of Winchester Avenue in Martinsburg.

Vic A. Roberts Jr., a Republican, of Gerrardstown Road in Gerrardstown, has filed to run for the 53rd District House of Delegates seat currently held by Del. Larry Faircloth, R-Berkeley. Although Faircloth has said he plans to run for governor, he has not yet filed for that post.

Two people have filed to run for the 58th District House of Delegates seat currently held by Del. Dale Manuel, D-Jefferson.

Filing for the seat are: Charles Locke Wysong Jr., a Democrat, of West Congress Street in Charles Town; and Suzanne Morgan, a Republican, of Brookline Drive in Charles Town.

Jefferson County

County Commission

Manuel, of Porter Way in Charles Town, has filed to run for a seat on the Jefferson County Commission. Seeking re-election to the commission is Al Hooper, a Republican, of South Seminary Street in Charles Town.

Two others also are hoping to be Jefferson County commissioners: Jim Surkamp, a Democrat, of Larkspur Lane in Shepherdstown; and Gary L. Phalen, a Republican, of Fernbank Drive in Shepherdstown.

Circuit clerk

Current Circuit Clerk Patsy Noland, a Democrat, of Douglas Drive in Charles Town, has filed to run for re-election.

County clerk

Two Democrats have filed for the Jefferson County clerk's position: Gary Marshall Kable, of Captain Kime Drive in Charles Town; and William Scott Coyle, of East Liberty Street in Charles Town.


All three Jefferson County magistrates have filed for re-election and, so far, face no challengers. Seeking re-election are Democrats Gail C. Boober, of Kings Nest Road in Kearneysville; Mary Paul Rissler, of Old Cave Road in Charles Town; and William Senseney, of Blakeley Place in Charles Town.

County prosecutor

Current Jefferson County Prosecutor Michael Thompson, a Democrat, of Windward Lane in Shepherdstown, is seeking re-election, as is Sheriff Ed Boober, a Democrat, of Kings Nest Road in Kearneysville.

Board of Education

Board of Education member Doris Cline, of South Church Street in Charles Town, is seeking re-election.

Also seeking a Board of Education seat is George M. Ganak, of Runneymede Drive in Charles Town.

Candidates have until midnight Jan. 31 to file.

The Herald-Mail Articles