School briefs

January 05, 2004

Teacher education award available to Maryland college students

ANNAPOLIS - The Sharon Christa McAuliffe Memorial Teacher Education Award is a scholarship awarded to Maryland residents who have earned at least 60 college credits, college graduates and teachers in a noncritical shortage area. The goal of the program is to encourage students to teach in shortage areas, which include chemistry; computer science; earth/space science; English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL); mathematics; physical science; physics; Spanish; special education (generic); special education for the severely and profoundly handicapped and visually impaired; and technical education.

To be eligible, a student must enroll full time or part time at a four-year college or university in a degree-seeking undergraduate or graduate program that offers a major in the shortage area. Recipients of the scholarship must maintain a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale. The maximum award of the scholarship is $14,775.

Persons receiving the scholarship must agree to work as a teacher in the shortage area one year for each year the award was received.


The Sharon Christa McAuliffe Memorial Teacher Education Award was named in honor of McAuliffe, the first teacher to fly in space. A native of Boston, she earned a master's degree from Bowie State University. McAuliffe died in 1986, when the space shuttle Challenger exploded, killing all seven astronauts aboard.

For information about the Sharon Christa McAuliffe Memorial Teacher Education Award or other state scholarship programs, contact the Office of Student Financial Assistance at the Maryland Higher Education Commission at 1-410-260-4565, 1-800-974-1024 or go to on the Web.

Regional Education Service Agency board to meet

The board of directors of the Regional Education Service Agency of Appalachian Maryland will meet from 10 a.m. to noon Monday, Jan. 12, at Allegany College in the president's board room in the library.

Institutions of RESA are Allegany College of Maryland, Allegany County Public Schools, Frostburg State University, Garrett College, Garrett County Public Schools, Hagerstown Community College, Washington County Public Schools and the University System of Maryland.

The Herald-Mail Articles